It’s time to…

…move on.

Agnes Coy  began just before I left England in 2006. She has been good to me over the past 7 years. She gave me a focus whilst I settled in a new country, she introduced me to some amazing people, she enabled me to make good friends, she allowed me to use the old, old fabrics, notions and papers that I adore and carried with me from one side of the world to another. She has played an instrumental part in my happiness and contentment and I’m grateful to her. I answer to Alison and to Agnes. I feel now though, that it is time to leave her behind as I look forward.

Agnes Coy’s final in-person event will take place at the Makers At Home Garden Party on 7th December where all products will be marked down. The online sale will launch on Sunday 8th December and will run for two weeks only.

At this stage I will keep the So Tread Softly blog open as I can’t quite bring myself to let that go. I imagine that my posts will be just as infrequent as they’ve always been but it will be nice to know it’s there to update you on progress, plans and even the odd online pop-up shop maybe.

I really appreciate those of you who have taken an interest in my work over the past few years and a heart felt ‘thank you’ is being sent to you.

I’ll post here again before Agnes goes.

With love and thanks,

Alison/Agnes

farewell image

Previous Post
Leave a comment

24 Comments

  1. Oh, we will really miss “Agnes” and her beautiful, beautiful craftiness but hopefully we will still “catch up” on your little projects along the way via So Tread Softly – I hope so anyway. xxx

  2. Oh my goodness! I will really miss your beautiful designs. I always wanted to take a class from you! I still have the magazine article of you and your studio in NZ Homes and Gardens. I have moved back to Canada which is my home. Love to read your blog. Keep it up.

  3. Wishing you much love and joy for your future. Agnes has always been a beautiful inspiration.

  4. Take good care and thank you Agnes. Hello to Alison! Wishing you continued happiness and creative joy in whatever shape or form. X

  5. Milly

     /  November 21, 2013

    I have loved following Agnes Coy and wish you all the best. I will definitely be following your blog.

  6. Noooooooo!
    oh well, at least we still get to see bits and pieces here and there on the blog.
    Maybe you might use some of your evening stitch time to update us with your wonderful inspirations/photographs/collections etc for those of us enduring the other side of the world that is rather dull and bloody freezing at the moment.

    Just got back from Madrid. it is cold there but they are all well and looking fabulous
    xxxx

  7. oh my goodness …. although I’m sure the new studio will be used for some exciting new project…..!
    xxx

  8. Linda Kirkland

     /  November 21, 2013

    All the best Agnes/Alison. Your creativity and eye for the simple and beautiful will surely have something new and enriching to fill your life. I have always admired your craftmanship and eye for detail. You are a true artist.

  9. Oh I will so miss Agnes and the beautiful work which I treasure. I have also kept the magazines articles about
    your house and studio. I sooooo wanted your studio and was lucky enough to visit a couple of times!! I wish you Alison all the best but please continue to blog when you can.

  10. andrea Ruglys

     /  November 22, 2013

    I ‘found’ Agnes Coy soon after I moved from Devon to Wellington in 2007; for me it was a lovely and reassuring blog and website to come to as I adjusted to leaving the UK and family and friends and making new connections in and with New Zealand. I’ve followed your blog and your many successes since then and whilst I’ll miss checking in on all your beautiful creations for the Agnes Coy label – so distinctive and thoughtfully made – I wish you all the very best in your current and future adventures and hope you’ll share some of them with us occasionally.

  11. Hi Nikki. Thank you for your very kind comments. I’ll still be making things but, under my own name and I intend to feature some of them on the blog for the next little while. xox

  12. What lovely words – thank you Marilyn. Our new house is very different from the last one so I’m looking forward to you having a peak inside that one. 🙂
    Wishing you much happiness in Canada. xox

  13. Thank you so much Megan. I always love to read your comments. 🙂 Thank you for taking the time to do that over the past few years. Love and joy right back to you. xox

  14. 🙂 Thank you KP. I’ll continue to create but under my own name and perhaps one off pieces as opposed to lines of products. xox

  15. Hi Milly. Another lovely comment from you – thank you. I always appreciate your kind words. Thank you for your best wishes. oxo

  16. 🙂 Yes, I’ll continue to post on the blog every now and then until I decide what form my creativity will take. Lucky you visiting the gang in Madrid and WELL DONE!! Lots of love to you and Brighton. xxx

  17. Hi Lisa. I’m thinking one off projects this time round. Textile art pieces maybe. I have lots of ideas and am looking forward to time being freed up to start them. xox

  18. What a lovely, lovely, thing to say Linda. THANK YOU XX

  19. Hi Rebecca. I think that you’ve been there from almost the beginning of Agnes haven’t you? I’ve loved meeting you and thank you so much for all of your purchasing support over the years. 🙂 Yes, I’ll blog when I can. I’m a bit inconsistent with blogging as I’m sure you’ve gathered but I’ll drop in every so often. xox

  20. Wow – really Andrea? I’m so glad you found my site and blog reassuring. We all need that when we’re moving from one side of the world to the other. I hope that you’re settled and happy and are enjoying this amazingly gentle country. xox.

  21. I cannot believe you will be leaving us…I’ve followed you for years and you really have given me so much inspiration and confidence in my approach to running workshops…I would never delete your bookmark in the hope that I can always find that little bit of joy…Thank you and may you continue to find textile happiness… x

  22. Cathy

     /  December 13, 2013

    Sorry to hear your news but happy for you and your family as you “re begin”. I have a brother living in NZ and first read about you in one of the magazines they mailed in a Christmas package to me in Canada. Loved reading about life in NZ, thanks!

  23. Hello Cathy. Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write a note. I really appreciated it. I’ll still be posting on the blog every once in a while and taking photos of this gorgeous country. Have a lovely Christmas.

  24. helen

     /  January 22, 2014

    Hello Alison, I don’t think I’ve commented here before but have enjoyed dropping by to see your beautiful creations. I’m sorry that Agnes is moving on but excited to see what you do next. Very best wishes for the future to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • November 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Archives

  • Meta

