makers at home

cloud cushion 1

image: cloud cushion

cloud pillow 2

image: cloud cushion detail

For the past couple of weeks, I’ve been busy preparing for an event dreamt up by three friends and myself. Here’s how it started:

‘Remember how our mothers before us used to disappear for the evening every so often back in the 70’s and return home laden with Tupperware? We were chatting about that over coffee a few months back and how it was really an opportunity for our Mums to meet with other women, have a glass of Babycham, a few sausages on sticks, spend a little of the house-keeping and talk about grown up stuff.
 Now, of course, we’d favour sauvignon over Babycham, crudities and dips over sausages but other than that, we still enjoy treating ourselves to a little something and chatting with people about subjects other than the price of nappies and the best way to deal with teething issues.
And so that, really, is how Makers At Home started. With the four of us each running small businesses that produce and sell lines of clothing and accessories, we thought that it would be great to gather in one of our homes and invite friends and their friends along for the evening to, chat a little, spend a little, drink a little and share a little plate. Good idea? Well, let’s try it and see how we go…’
We love the idea of finding new ways to sell our handmades to people who enjoy shopping responsibly in our beautiful rural community. We’re all terribly excited. I’ll feedback to you after the event.
Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Brilliant idea!
    Hope you have a fab cinnywaggslashcreaty time.
    Gx

  2. Such a great idea…..do so wish I lived locally even though I am an older mum I would politely gate crash! Went to the local Stitch and Bitch while holidaying in Wanaka and my children were mortified…’Mum, you’ll be the oldest person there,’ and I was and loved every minute, so very delicious being in the company of the young…. they keep you on your toes and who knows, maybe I’ll be able to dance for just that much longer. Have fun!

    Sheryl

  3. Thanks Gary. I think it’s going to be lots of fun. x

  4. Hi Sheryl. Being the Mum myself of a pre-schooler in her mid 40’s, you would be MORE than welcome to join in if you were closer. I am very much looking forward to my daughter being mortified by my behaviour as she get’s older! It’s our job!!
    Thanks for your smashing comment.

  5. Julie

     /  July 25, 2013

    How I wiish I wasn’t on the other side of the world! How it’s a great success!

  6. Thanks Julie. It would be great if you could just nip over from the other side of the world for the evening wouldn’t it?!

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • July 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

