summer dining

I’ve said before that one of the many things I enjoy about living in NZ is eating seasonally. Asparagus season, sweetcorn season, feijoa season… Right now,  tomato season. We’re snacking on them and eating them with pretty much every meal. Yesterday, I roasted them. So good! Seriously good!

summer dining

image: roasted tomatoes on ciabatta with feta and basil

Halve your tomatoes (I used several varieties), scoop out the seeds and lay them, cut side up, in a roasting tray. Drizzle over 1/4 cup of EVOO and 2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar. Season. Finely chop two garlic cloves and sprinkle over the tomatoes along with 2 teaspoons of sugar. Roast in the oven (220C) for about 35 minutes. Spoon over warmed, sliced ciabatta and add torn basil leaves. Because I had it in the fridge I also added crumbled feta and some bacon pieces that I’d fried until crispy. A delicious summer supper!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Love reading your blog. Like you I love the simple pleasures..home, family, beauty in small things.

  2. Looks lovely and just sings of summer days xx

  3. It’s those small things that are important I think. Little moments and daily occurances that are often taken for granted. Really glad that you enjoy the blog Linda. I appreciate you dropping by.

  4. Thanks Lynn. It’s still really warm and dry here so this sort of food really does fit the bill. xx

  5. susana david

     /  February 28, 2013

    What is EVOO please Agnes?????????

  6. Extra Virgin Olive Oil Sussana. 🙂

Leave a comment

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • February 2013
    M T W T F S S
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728  
  • Archives

  • Meta