wardrobe additon

dress making agnes coy 1

image: the list

With two thirds of my clothing in storage, it is no surprise that I’m getting a bit tired of the capsule wardrobe I thought would see me through to the end of the new build. January, therefore, was set aside for dress making. I had sewing patterns in my Christmas stocking and have gathered together some gorgeous linen, cotton, thread, and fastenings in preparation.  I’ve managed one dress! I keep getting distracted by pools, lakes, playing in the garden with Honor, meeting up with girlfriends for coffee and iced tea, inventing new salads and holiday reading.

I’ll get there – eventually. Maybe towards the end of the summer when the evenings begin to get a little cooler. Maybe then I’ll feel more inclined to sit behind my sewing machine.

dress making 2

image: back pleating

I’m pretty happy that I’ve at least made something. Great for summer and winter and perfect for layering which, I tend to do a lot. Just love wearing dresses over wide pants, jeans or skirts and teamed with footless tights perhaps and my trusty birkinstocks.

dress making 5

image: linen dress

dress making 4

image: front pleating

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Julie

     /  January 25, 2013

    Hi Alison – that is absolutely lovely – gosh I wish I could be happy with making clothing for myself but it always turns out either way too big or too small & I can never seem to get it right. I make clothes for dolls all the time but fitting them is alot easier than myself!!! Yes I think the cooler evenings will be more indusive to sitting at your machine. Happy sewing – Julie 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • January 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

