the greys of the ferry

We don’t get down to Lake Ferry often enough. It’s just over an hours rural drive from Carterton. I find it so refreshing to be close to water. I’m particularly drawn to the exposed, bleak, greyness of this part of the east coastline enhanced by the occasional splash of green. We like to beach-comb for pebbles and interesting pieces of sea worn driftwood.

image: mr ts and miss ts head down to the beach

image: collecting pebbles

image: miss ts pebble painting

Today we spent a lovely morning painting and decorating a few of the stones from our Lake Ferry stash.  Miss TS was completely absorbed for an entire hour!

image: stonebugs and viburnum

Previous Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Catherine

     /  September 6, 2012

    You can’t have too many painted stones. We have 20 ladybirds which have come in very useful when learning how to count and do simple sums

    Looks lovely, chilly!

    CM

  2. I was thinking how beautiful it all was and then I got to the painted stones. P-R-E-C-I-O-U-S! x PS: I’ve started my own blog – yikes.

  3. Catherine – what a good idea. We need to add to our collection sp that we can count too!
    Yes, it always seems to be a tad on the chilly side whenever we head down to Lake Ferry.

  4. Thanks Nikki! 🙂 Your blog is gorgeous. What lovely colours. Really like the painted pegs idea – might have to pinch that one for Honor. Also love the bags you made. I have the very same tee towels from Freedom. What a bargain!

  5. chris

     /  September 8, 2012

    How simple life can be!

  6. Caroline

     /  September 9, 2012

    Beautiful photos, and the painted stones are lovely. The pretty scented flowers are viburnum, though, not verbena, which is a herb (also with lovely scented flowers.) We have two different kinds of viburnum in our front border – Korean and the classic V. Burkwoodii) and they are scenting our entire garden, and the street!

  7. Thank you Caroline. I’ve corrected the name. I’m so rubbish with plants. I’m going to need so mauch help when it comes to land scaping the new plot of land! Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. 🙂

  8. Beautiful beautiful photo’s (and words). This is one of my Mothers haunts as a child. Thank you for sharing x

  9. Pretty and so cute ! I like your blog, simple and clean. I add your picture the Stonebugs onto my pinterest board, hope you don’t mind. You are welcomed to visit my site too, any suggestion is welcomed as I’m new to the blogging world 🙂

  10. Heelo Yean. Thank you for pinning the photo of the stonebugs. They’re lots of fun to paint up. Happy blogging!

  11. Ahhh, thanks Joanna. Much appreciated. Hopefully it will also become one of Honor’s favourite haunts as well as your Mother’s. x

  12. I really blog also and I’m posting something alike to this particular
    article, “the greys of the ferry ”. Would you mind in the event
    that I reallyapply a little of your points? Many thanks ,Gisele

  13. No, I don’t mind Gisele.

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • September 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Archives

  • Meta

