finding the balance

image: pillows awaiting their final stitches

For those of us running hand-made businesses, Christmas is without doubt, our busiest time of year. Producing stock needed for fairs and markets during the pre-Christmas lead up, has often meant burning the candle at both ends. This year, however, is different. With the arrival of Honor it’s been more important than ever to find that balance between work and play. Several weeks ago I told myself that whatever I could make in the few windows of opportunity that I had, was enough. With the release of pressure, I was left with a sense of calmness. Whatever I can achieve, will be enough. I’ll keep reminding myself of that throughout the coming weeks

Yesterday was spent in a marquee on the stunning Parehua Country Estate. I was lucky enough to be invited to have stall at the Martinbrorough Town and Country House and Garden Tour. Sadly, I didn’t get to tour the homes, but I did get to meet some great people. Val from Lavenders Green had the stall next to me and I treated myself to a bottle of her Lemon, Ginger and Manuka Honey Cordial. Diluted with hot water, it was great for my cold that Honor had very kindly shared with us.

image: tiny bunches of grapes forming

image: the view across Parehua Vineyard

image: the marquee that housed our stall. Mark Dimock sculptures line the entrance

image: hand embroidery on vintage linen

Next Saturday (19th) I will be at the Rathkeale College Fete. Details can be found in the right-hand column.

Right then, off to build Lego towers and read story books.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Beautiful photos! And children are incredibly generous about sharing that sort of thing. But I think they also share their youth too.

  2. Jackie Welham

     /  November 13, 2011

    I absolutely love that cushion, your work is beautiful.

  3. Thanks Steph. It was easy to take photos in such a setting. Whichever way you turned you were face with beauttiful vistas. I would have been quite happy if Honor had kept her cold to herself though. 🙂

  4. Thanks you Jackie. Very kind. I’m planning on doing a few more embroidered vintage linens over the Christmas break.

  5. Will we see Lego blocks creeping in to your designs I wonder?
    Hmmmmmm… there’s an idea. Very Grayson Perry were Grayson Perry a fabulous, recently be-parented, hand-maker living in NZ.
    Gx

  6. Very beautiful I really love your combination of embroidery and vintage, I hope your cold is getting better xxx
    Lynn xxxx

  7. Hi Lynn, It seems that everyone is full of cold at the moment. I’m hoping that tomorrow I’ll be feeling much better thanks.
    Glad you like the embroidery. xx

  8. Hi Gary! x
    Lego blocks? Me thinks not. 🙂 Googled Grayson Perry. Goodness! What a character!

  9. Hi Agnes! This is interesting. I love the craftsmanship and I love the vintage design. One of my aunts used to do hand embroidery in our pillow cases especially with the names.

  10. chris

     /  December 14, 2011

    Happy Xmas to you and yours. It will indeed be a ‘special one’ with that wee poppet and those UK guests.

    Chris

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • November 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Archives

  • Meta

