and relax

image: the work table

Before a major fair or event, the studio gets a little chaotic and this last week was no exception.

image: piles of lace, silk and cotton

The final Craft 2.0 of the year took place yesterday at Chaffers Dock, Wellington. The Atrium, where the hub of the fair took place was incredible with a buzzing atmosphere, natural light and space. The Galleria, that housed my stall and several others felt,  I have to say, a little like an after thought but we all made the most of it and were grateful to being included in perhaps the most established and popular of the NZ craft fairs. The Galleria was filled with amazing designers and was one of my most successful fairs to date selling out of several lines.

I lost count of the number of blog readers who made themselves known to me. They were filled with congratulations for little Honor and each and every time, I welled up! I’m rubbish at keeping my cool!

image: cross cushions and hand printed pouches

I purchased a gorgeous two piece for Miss Tread Softly from Jules from Lone Moose who had set up shop next door to me. I swapped agnes goodies with Joke from Hikkepik for one of her beautiful frocks. I think that it’s the one we’ll dress Honor in when she meets our very special visitors at the international airport in a few weeks time. Here in the Wairarapa we’re all very excited that Hikkepik will be moving to our province soon. Joke’s wonderful bright-eyed giddiness is infectious!

So, all in all, a very enjoyable weekend. Today was spent reorganising the studio ready for the next round of designing and making in preparation for the Martinborough Town and Country House and Garden Tour on Saturday 12th November.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Julie

     /  November 1, 2011

    So pleased to hear the show went well for you. Also was lovely to see that your work table looks like that sometimes as in my sewing room at present, I cant see the carpet but I know it is under there somewhere!!!!! Just love your blog and all that you create Alison, good luck for the next lots of stalls. kind regards, Julie 🙂

  2. It gives me great comfort to see other people’s studios looking really messy. And funny that we both blogged about our messy studios post-Craft 2.0 – although I think yours looks pretty in mess too!

  3. Hi Julie. Thanks for dropping by.There’s just no time to keep things organised before an event. I always booked the next day in to tidy up and spring clean. Looking forward to getting back in there later on this week. Thank you for your good wishes.

  4. Hi Emma! The studio is always at it’s worse before a Craft 2.0 for some reason. So glad that you also had a good day on Saturday. It’s exhausting isn’t it but so worth it! I do hope that there will be more in the furture.

  5. retrofemmeobjetdart

     /  November 6, 2011

    It was a delight to meet you at last Alison. Your stall and work looked lovely – the “calm after the storm”… Good luck with the Garden Tour and best to your little family. 🙂

  6. Hi Retrofemme! It was really nice to meet you as well. Thank you for dropping by and making yourself known to me. Your best wishes are much appreciated – thank you!

  7. You did well up! And Emma’s right, what you call messy looks awesome to me. Loved meeting you. Love ur creativity and ur wisdom. x

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • October 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

  • Meta

