hand mades for her bedroom

Well, I am happy to say that I managed a days work in the studio yesterday. Can’t quite believe that I haven’t been in there for almost 6 weeks. I decided to open up the shop as several people had asked if they could drop by and it was just lovely chatting, sewing, listening to The Archers and having visits from Mr TS and Honor every so often.

I managed to finish a reversible duvet cover for her cot. The floral fabric came from Ikea about 10 years ago. I’d made them into curtains and were no longer needed so didn’t mind cutting them up. I think that I’ll be making a second one as well. Honor realised that it was a new cover and got very excited at nap time, grabbing hold of it, giggling and waving it up and down. So glad that she seems to appreciate hand-made!

I also managed to run up a couple of cushions for her room. I made them out of an old Aran jumper that I’d picked up at a secondhand place in Wellington. For the backing I used heather fabric that I also got for a song. Reusing is definitely the name of the game in our household!

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

24 Comments

  1. Oh Alison
    A beautiful duvet for a beautiful Honor – she is so blessed to have found such wonderful parents and a loving home.
    I’m sure she appreciates hand made even at this early age!!!!!
    hugs
    Shane

  2. Thank you Shane although we feel like the blessed ones.:-)

  3. Nikki Watson

     /  June 5, 2011

    Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous but we have come to expect nothing less from you! Just wanted to ask … when sewing something that is knitted (ie the reclaimed jumper), do you have to do anything special (so that it doesn’t unwind)??

  4. Beautiful quilt cover, Honor is a lucky girl.

    Glad to know that I am not the only person in New Zealand that listens to the Archers. Have you tried Archers extra yet, I listened to a couple of episodes, but I don’t think its for me.

  5. What wonderful pleasures…what joy I am so pleased for you both xxxx
    Lynn xxx

  6. beautiful.

    (nothing wrong with reusing!!!)

  7. Julie

     /  June 6, 2011

    Well done – you achieved quite alot. I remember those snatched moments of creativity well – enjoy them as they pass so quickly and the little ones grow up so fast. Before you know it Honor will be sitting in your sewing space playing with fabrics herself and doing her own creativity!!! What an exciting thought!! Happy long weekend to you all. Julie 🙂

  8. Hi Nicola,
    Don’t think that I could live without The Archers!
    Yes, I have given Archer Extra a go but like you, wasn’t really that keen. Do you listen to Radio4extra? Great plays, readings and stories. Perfect to sew to.

  9. What joy indeed Lynn! Thank you for leaving a comment.
    Wonderful pleasures right back to you. x

  10. Thank you Monica. Reusing really is the way forward!

  11. Hi Julie. Lovely comment – thank you. Am so looking forward to Honor having her very own craft table in the studio.

  12. I love that little glimpse of Honor

  13. amy

     /  June 6, 2011

    hi there Ali….
    Im sure i remember those very curtains, i too have some of that fabric, funnily enough was in ikea the other day purchasing some lovely ticking style fabric!!

    All looks happy and calm in your beautiful house xx

  14. oh to stop and enjoy the quiet moments, and what beautiful photos – thank you for sharing x

  15. Hi Kerianne,
    I wondered if anyone would spot her in the background there. Well done! You win first prize!

  16. Hi Amy,

    Love that you drop by the blog to see what we’re up to. You’re right – the curtains hung in my workroom at Maxwell Road.
    Wish that we had an Ikea here. Miss those stylish bargains. They’re fabric is pretty good isn’t it?

    It’s certainly a happy household although Honor has been suffering from a cold – bless her.

    Love from my home to yours. x

  17. Sorry Nicola, have just realised that I didn’t reply to your lovely comment. With the aran jumper I cut the front piece out and then overlocked it. If you don’t have an overlocker then you can try the zig zag stitch on the sewing machine. It was pretty tricky with the intricate knitting but I’m sure that it would be more succsessful with plain knitting. Also then you pin the front to the back before sewing use a million pins as you would when sewing velvet. It just means that everything is held tighly in place. Good luck if you decide to give it a go!

  18. Enjoying a queit moment right now Joanna but I have to say that the not so quiet moments are equally as enjoyable! 🙂

  19. Retrofemme

     /  June 7, 2011

    Just gorgeous!! Happy days to you :))

  20. I love your makes. What beautiful things. Ur aesthetics are always pleasing as are the tones. What a lovely home you continue to create. I love your description of her reaction. Glad you got some time in the studio. I’d be so keen one day to attend a workshop run by yourself Agnes. x Rachelle

  21. Love that you are capturing it all for her.. she will remember and feel blessed and loved xx

  22. Thank you Retrofemme for your comment and the smiley face!

  23. Hi Rachelle. Lovely words – THANK YOU! Should I add your email to my mailing list? That’s the best way of beeing the first to know about future workshops. Just let me know.

  24. Hi Jo. Always great to see your name appear. There’s a little secret blog that is being written almost every day especially for her. x

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • June 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Archives

  • Meta

