project

image: mapped letters

I spotted this project in the latest Jeanne d’Arc Living magazine and thought that it would be perfect for Honor’s room against the heather wall. Usually, a project like this would take me no more than half an hour. It’s taken me two weeks!! The wooden letters I brought from Spotlight. I painted and distressed them with Resene’s Wan White and covered the front in an old map I’d found at a charity store last year featuring my home county of Sussex.

Mr and Miss Tread Softly will be spending time together this Sunday which means that I’ll get a few in the studio. I’m going to be making a couple of duvet covers for Honor’s cot. At least that’s the plan! I’m learning though, that things don’t always go according to plan with a little one around!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. Nice letters Alison and I’m sure Honor will love to read them (and the map) as she grows up. Good luck with the duvet making.

  2. Jan Cross

     /  May 31, 2011

    I so love reading your posts and was most interested in the Jeanne d’Arc Living magazine. I searched online for an outlet where I could purchase it but so far I have not had much luck at all. Can you help with where I may be able to get it?

    I love reading about baby Honour and wish you all the best with your new treasure.

  3. Thanks Kerianne. I’ve always loved peering at maps myself so maybe she will too.

  4. Hi Jan,

    Sadly, nobody in NZ carries this magazine. I looked into stocking it on my website but the postage was just far too expensive as it ships from Denmark. Until recently it was only published in Danish but now there’s an english version. I got mine from Angela in Australia. Here’s a link to her blog: http://simplethingssmalljoysstore.blogspot.com/2011/05/jeanne-darc-living-is-on-its-way.html Perhaps you can tell her that I sent you if you decide to place an order. I seem to remember that with the magazine and shipping from Oz it came to 30NZD. Expensive I know but it’s just such a treat.
    Thank you for your lovely comment Jan.
    Alison

  5. Anotheroneopens

     /  May 31, 2011

    Two weeks- you did well!
    I started knitting a lovely little jumper for my new baby son. I’m not a great knitter but I did get halfway up the train pattern on the front. I might finish in time for his 37th birthday!

  6. Hi Alison

    Beautiful letters which your daughter will grow to love. Good luck with your new family – its very special to be able to open your home and heart as you have and it will give you all more rewards than you can imagine.

    Thought you might like to know that Minerva in Wellington is stocking Jeanne D’Arc Living, should you find the time to venture this far.

    Good luck for the adventures ahead. Best wishes

  7. chris

     /  May 31, 2011

    Love them. You are so talented. Looking forward to photos of Honor.

  8. Jan Cross

     /  June 1, 2011

    Was good to read Philippa’s post re Jeanne D’Arc Magazine – I emailed Minerva and they have edition 3 in stock – $28 plus $1.80 post in NZ.

    Jan

  9. Therese

     /  June 1, 2011

    One of the joys of parenthood – the realisation that the way you used to measure time and productivity has changed AND it really doesn’t matter. Take care

  10. Lovely idea. Lucky little girl x

  11. Helen O

     /  June 1, 2011

    Hi Ali

    Beautiful, Honour is such a lucky, lucky girl, we are so happy for you all. Enjoy every minute, time passes so quickly….children are such a wonder.xxxx

  12. What a big month May was for you Alison. I’ve visited here over the years and I have loved your stories and adventures of making and settling into New Zealand. And now a new baby girl. I love her name. It’s perfect. And she is a very blessed baby to have a wonderful mama who takes so much pride in all she does. Enjoy your early days together. They are precious. And anything else you can manage at this stage is a bonus. Be kind to yourselves. Its the same as all new mama’s who bring their babes home. An adjustment period. Don’t be shy to ask for help. I did, even for my third baby. hugs. x

  13. Rose

     /  June 3, 2011

    want to order 2 pincushions from your shop. 1 pink and 1 blue ——-but think My computer skills have gone to pot.
    Will ring you instead, with a plan to collect them ( as I live near bye ) Just love your blog and the way you share so much. It is inspirational Love Rose

  14. Thank you for commenting Anothdooropens. I have a pair of socks that are a bit like that. Started them about 10 years ago and still haven’t finished them!

  15. Hi Philippa,
    Tha rewards have already started. What a joy she is.
    Thank you for letting me know that Minerva now stock the magazine. Jan, who asked where it came from, was able to order a copy.

  16. Hi Chris,

    Glad you liked the letters.
    You’re not the first to say that they are looking forward to photos of Honor. However, I will only be publsihing glimpses of her as tend not to show people of my blog in detail. I’ll certainly be writing about her every now and again though. Hope that you will enjoy those posts.

  17. Yes, that’s good to know isn’t it Jan. I’ll be ordering future copies from there myself.

  18. Therese, you are so right.

  19. Thanks Jo. Great to hear from you.

  20. Hi Helen. So pleased that you’re dropping by the blog every now and again. You are right, time does pass so quickly. In fact, I’m not even sure what day it is!

  21. Hi Rachelle,

    That was such a lovely comment. Thank you so much. We really did appreciate everything you had to say.
    We love her name too, given to her by her birth mother. It suits her so well.
    We’re getting pretty good at asking people for help and advice. Everyone, it seems as a little tip that they’d like to pass on.

  22. Thank you Rose. I’ve put the pincushions to one side for you and will email you direct.

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • May 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

