the guide

Thank you all for your lovely comments regarding the paper chandelier in the last post. My intention is to make some smaller versions in the near furture for the shop . I’ll let you know via the blog once they’ve been launched. Talking of blogs, did you know that you can subscribe to mine by clicking the little ‘sign me up’ column to the right? By doing that will mean that whenever I publish a new post, you’ll recieve an email in your inbox stating exactly that. Just a thought. It saves checking back and finding that there’s nothing new during those times when I’m being a little slack.

So, It’s a little cooler now in NZ as we’re well into Autumn. Some mornings I’m lighting the log burner in the studio which means that this little man is spending more time in it:

image: trumpet asleep in the studio in my favourite worn chair

Passionfruit and figs are two of the fruits now in season. I have a neighbour and also a friend who grow both. The little bags filled with fruity goodness every so often are welcome surprises when I spot them sitting in our mailbox. Figs, are my new favoruite thing. How I got to my age never having tasted a fresh one I will never know. I was given a bag full yesterday and now there are just three left.

image: fresh figs from friends garden

In the studio I’ve been having  a play with clay and stitches. I’m pleased with the way they’ve turned out. They are for sale in the in-person shop right now and will be available online next week when I’m planning to do a big website update.

image: pressed laced and stitched brooches

Through the post today I recieved a copy of ‘The Guide: The Essential Lifestyle Magazine’ (Wellington edition) which includes a huge segment on The Wairarapa region as well as an article about Agnes Coy and me. It’s beautiful written ( as are many of the articles) and photographed by Madeleine Slavick.

image: the guide article

image: feet up and five minutes to have a read

My shop opening hours over the Easter break will be slightly less than usual. However, if you are planning a special journey and would like to visit, then just let me know and I’m sure that we can arrange something.

Recently spent time have a good old clear out and am loving how together the studio looks right now.

image: line of inspiration and snippets in the studio

Until next time…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I saw one of those beautiful chairs on trade me and imagined it painted white. You’ve done it and it looks great! I love the pics of the studio. I’m in the process of boxing my craft room up as I’m about to move. It’s so hard to put away projects that I’m working on. I might lose my inspiration for it and never get back to it?! Thank you for the inspiration once again. Love the ceramics. Marilyn

  2. sue worth

     /  April 16, 2011

    Alison, next time you have some figs slice them in half and drizzle a little maple syrup into the centre of each half abd bake in oven on 180 degrees for about 20mins. Serve with a blob of delicious plain yoghurt and you have a stunning dessert. Enjoy. I’m cooking quince at the moment and the house smells wonderful.
    love Sue

  3. The shop looks lovely. The light is perfect in there.
    Weathers rubbish here too
    xx Catherine

  4. Your shop looks beautiful, like the perfect spot to put your feet up and rest for a minute or two 🙂 Very happy to have come across your blog!

  5. sheryl

     /  April 23, 2011

    Loved my visit to your shop, and came home full of inspiration. Reading your blog reminded me to check my fig trees. I went down to the orchard this morning, trug in hand and hopeful, but they weren’t ready yet. I need to beat the birds to them when they are. I found a recipe for preserved figs that I am eager to try with honey, lemon and ginger. If successful and my memory serves me well I shall pack a jar in the car on my next trip and deliver.

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • April 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Archives

  • Meta

