business as usual

image: pumice stone garland wrapped around a post at the entrance to the courtyard and shop

It’s almost the end of my first week back in business after a couple of months away and it’s certainly been a busy one. The shop was pretty well stocked but is now looking decidedly bare so I feel a few late nights in the studio coming on. I’ve loved getting back to work. In fact, I’ve been opening up super early to get a couple of hours work in before opening to the public at 10.30. I had planned on doing a website update next week but I think that it will be delayed for a little longer whilst I restock.

image: geranium

image: oregano

image: gypsophelia

image: fresh flowers

I always have flowers in the studio, usually freshly picked from our garden. Even in winter there’s something to pick – a sprig of rosemary perhaps or a sage stem. I love the simplicity of displaying just a few of them in old medicine bottles.

image: chalked message

I regularly chalk up messages on the outside of the shop although I have a feeling that this one will be there for a while as a gentle reminder:

‘slow down and enjoy life – it’s not only the scenery you miss by going too fast – you also miss the sense of where you are going and why’

 

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. julz

     /  January 31, 2011

    Hi Alison
    Lovely to hear you are back in your studio,
    and enjoying life in all its beauty.
    Look forward to browsing your web.

    Cheers
    Julz

  2. Milly

     /  January 31, 2011

    Great to hear you are back in the studio. I am visiting the Wairarapa in March and hope to visit your studio again. I really enjoyed my first visit a year ago.

  3. The message…so true.

  4. Hi Julz, Thank you for dropping by.
    Happy book making,
    Alison

  5. Hi Milly,

    It will be good to see you again. Do check my website for opening times as I won’t be open every weeknd in March. Would hate for you to arrive on a day when I’m not there.

    Alison

  6. I think so to Kerianne.

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • January 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

  • Meta

