gratitude

I did a swap a while back with a friend – a couple of boxes of vintage embroidery thread in exchange for one of her gorgeous hand printed Carterton cushions. It was delivered this morning. A pretty good way to start a day I reckon!

image: ramari textiles carterton cushion

image: ramari textiles carterton cushion

We’ve been away for a while staying in our family holiday home on the shoreline of Lake Taupo. Taupo is a place that I very much feel a connection with. For us it’s about time out to stand still for a while, breathing deeply and taking stock. We’re back home now and I am thrilled to say that for the first time in years, pain-free and back in the studio! Hoorah for medical science! I’m more than comfortable sharing with you that working, designing and making has been my way of dealing with physical pain. If I’m working, if I’m on the go and keeping busy then I’m not thinking about the discomfort.

image: flowers picked this morning in the garden

A friend said to me before my surgery, that life was going to change dramatically for me and that I wasn’t going to be as driven. She’s right – she’s sooooo right. To sit here, in my beautiful space, in 30 degree heat, planning what to make today, looking forward to the goodness we know is sure to come, without tension, without discomfort, having the option to write and send my thoughts out into the ether, I’m so very grateful.

Here’s to happy days!

 

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. Welcome back. Wishing you lots of creative, relaxing and happy days. nice cushion swap! It’s so different from your work but looks right at home there. Perfect.

  2. Thank you, Designcrafty for the warm welcome and lovely comments. Aways wonderful to read.

  3. Hello!

    I am a new reader of yours and very much enjoy and love your blog. Im so glad to hear that you are feeling so well and so peacefull. Wishing you all the best and I look forward to reading more!

    Cheers to you!

    Liesl Ayers-Southwell
    thelittleraodsaidgo.blogspot.com

  4. Yay for a pain free life! Here’s to many years of painfree laidback life, enjoying it as it comes.

  5. Anotheroneopens

     /  January 18, 2011

    I am so glad everything has gone well for you- it is nice to see you back online. I’m sure recovery is easier when the sun shines- here it is grey, miserable and wet.

  6. retrofemmeobjetdart

     /  January 18, 2011

    A lovely beginning to the New Year Alison – I wish you continuing good health and success.

  7. Hello Liesl,

    Thank you for taking the time to comment and leeting me kknow that you’re a reader. That’s lovely/ Really glad that you’re enjoying it.

    Thank you also for your good wishes.

    Have just nipped over to your blog and saw the AMAZING Electra bikes. Hopped onto google right away to see if anyone stocked them in New Zealand! They’re just fabulous aren’t they?!

    best wishes from my home to yours,
    Alison

  8. Steph! I hear ya!
    Hope that life is good over the hill.

  9. Thank you ‘another one opens’. It’s good to back also.

    Yes, it’s very easy to sit on the deck and relax when the sun is shining. Hope that it shows its self where you are soon!

  10. Thank you Retrofemme. I also wish the same for you. 🙂

  11. Wow! You’re back! It’s great to see such a happy post! Blessings, Marilyn

  12. Thank you Marilyn – that was a lovely welcome! 🙂

  13. hi Alison,

    it is a really lovely cushion, you really do have a good eye for great photos, they always look so peaceful and serene, must be a reflection of your personality mayhaps?

  14. Hi Shiree!

    Hmmm…I cetainly wouldn’t choose peaceful and serene to describe myself 🙂 but I find the work that I do does feel like that.

    Thank you for the photo compliment. I’d really love to take some photography classes actually.

  15. Martha

     /  January 19, 2011

    Wow – how plucky to work to drown out the pain. I fear I would have had a much more selfish response – lie around and complain 🙂 I am so glad to hear that you are now pain free and finding life so much easier. All the best.

  16. Milly

     /  January 19, 2011

    Good to hear that you are so well. I agree about Taupo. It is my husband & my most favourite NZ holiday place. Great shops, great cafes, great views, and some times great trout! We are off there again for a long weekend in a fortnight. Just the best place to relax and enjoy. All the best to you for 2011.

  17. Ros

     /  January 20, 2011

    Yay, Yay, Yay!!!

    I can’t tell you how pleased I am for you.. It’s such good news – you have made my day.

  18. Hi Martha,

    Several years ago I would have said the same thing but I think it’s interesting how often we surprise ourselves at dealing with situations in different ways to which we’d initially thought we ‘d deal with them.
    So nice to hear from you.

  19. {sigh} Milly – I’m so with you there. Just wonderful to be close to water. Have a smashing time in Taupo. Wish I was going again too!

  20. Oh gawd bless ‘ya Ros! Your enthusiasm made me smile! x

  21. Hey Lovely,

    Just catching up on my blog reading – oh my goodness I have missed so much. I am so glad that you are on the mend now. I have been looking at your lovely linen dresses – they are gorgeous!.

    It’s cold and dreary here but your blog has bought a bit of sunshine in.

    Woo
    xx

  22. Hi Woo!
    Thanks for dropping by. Always lovely to see your name pop up in the blog.
    I think it’s good to check in every couple of months or so – gives you enough to read whilst having a cuppa.
    Alison xx

  23. Helen

     /  January 23, 2011

    Hi Ali

    I’m sooo glad that you are feeling good again…………….loads of love
    Helen
    xx

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • January 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

  • Meta

