balance

My studio is very much a sensory space encouraging me to take time and find my balance. Geranium, lemon and lavender oils burn gently, Stacey’s new CD plays softly in the background, I stop, drink coffee and look out of the french doors into the garden –  I appreciate this wonderful day. Allow me to share a selection of photos that show the things that I’m enjoying right now.

image: grasses and pumice planted around the deck

image: fabrics given to me by a customer in tune with my style and the beginnings of pottery faces for a project I’m working on

image: freshly potted succulents sit on a shelf outside my studio in old terracotta pots and jars

image: more banner brooches that I’m really enjoying making

image: jars of wild flowers dotted around the studio

image: new brooches made using antique fabrics and based on nurses watches

image: our first pick of radish from the vegetable garden

This Sunday I’m involved in Be My Guest. A selection of venues in the Wairarapa will be opening their doors for free. It’s an amazing opportunity to see what this wonderful region has to offer. It would be so lovely to see you.

 

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. Such a beautiful day and such lovely soothing images… Your “nurses watch” brooches are also very cute!

  2. Thank you Retrofemme. It’s always so lovely to read your comments.

  3. Such beautiful things around you – its no wonder you produce such exquisite and inspired work. Enjoy you open weekend. Wish I could come along….

  4. Oh Karuna – what kind words – thank you so very much. Rain forecast for the Be My Guest day tomorrow but am hoping that there are some die-hard visitors out there! Hope that the sun is shining in Nelson.

  5. I love the new brooches hope the weather is kind tomorrow
    Rebecca

  6. Thank you Rebecca. I have to say that the forecast for tomorrow isn’t good! Not to worry though. I would love to have the time to do the C&G’s Embroidery course that you’re doing. You’re producing some really lovely work.

  7. Those nurses brooches are seriously inspired..fab idea.

  8. Evocative photos Alison. Beautiful brooches. Wish I could take part in the Be My Guest – hope it went well. Best wishes for your convalescence and have a Happy Christmas – bit early I know.

  9. Hi Keri-Ann. Thanks for dropping by. Be My Guest was really busy with lots of visitors that I haven’t seen before. Have a good Christmas yourself. Bye for now, Alison

  10. As always Alison, your beautiful creations make me wish I was there to view in person. Love the banner pins.

    Have had such a hectic Summer, just now catching up on all you’ve been up to. Sorry to hear you will be out of action for a while dear – hope it’s nothing serious. My best wishes go with you.

    Warm thoughts from North Carolina.
    Mary – A Breath of Fresh Air

  11. Hello Mary,

    Good to hear from you again., I love the new banner on your blog. Very styley.

    Thank you for your concern. Please know that once I’m back I’ll be a pain-free woman so it’s all good! Happy happy, joy joy!

    Best wishes from my home to yours, Alison

  12. watchthatcheese

     /  November 11, 2010

    Hello darl Glad to hear you are still in one piece. I love your photos – the new jewellery looks lush.
    The description of your studio is very evocative – I would so love to be visiting you there again

    Kia Kaha
    Ros

  13. Hi Ros,

    Thank you for dropping by. I really enjoy stopping in at your blog to see what’s you’re up to in Hay. Wouldn’t it be lovely if we could nip over to each others for a cuppa every now and again?

    Take care. A.

  14. Catherine

     /  November 16, 2010

    Hello Alison,

    Hope alls fine with you and yours, i wanted pick your brain if you don’t mind, i have tried trawling you blog for a poem you posted about winter, the sound and feel of winter, but i can’t find it, i am sure that i made a note of it but can’t locate it. Can you remember?

    much regards Catherine

  15. Hi Catherine, Are you sure that it was on my blog? The only one I ever remember publishing was the WB Yeates one:

    Had I the heavens’ embroidered cloths, Enwrought with golden and silver light, The blue and the dim and the dark cloths Of night and light and the half-light, I would spread the cloths under your feet: But I, being poor, have only my dreams; I have spread my dreams under your feet; Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

    Can you remember any of the lines?

    Cheerio for now, Al

  16. Loved seeing into your world a little bit. Delightful!

  17. Thank you – happy that you dropped by to have a peek.

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • November 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Archives

  • Meta

