today

Today my thoughts are with family and friends on the South Island – all safe but very shaken as aftershocks continue.

Here in the North, the calm and tranquility of the studio allows me to be focused but mindful of our neighbouring island.

A few morning shots…

image: folded antique and vintage fabrics

image: neatly stacked feather pillows

image: hand printed doilies and pottery

image: hand printed detail

image: embossed pottery hearts

image: a small collection of dainty button bracelets

image: ‘new’ reclaimed shelves

image: a little gathering of favourites

Previous Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Astonishing news to wake up to this morning.
    We are so fortunate no one was killed.
    My heart goes out to the people of Christchurch.

    I LOVe linens so my heart skipped a beat when I arrived at this picture – Oh so yummy – lucky you!!

  2. hmmmm your shop is filled with all loveliness!!

    We felt the quake here in Twizel, quite a bit so I can only imagine what Christchurch felt, lucky it is so flat, and only a few injuries.

  3. I lived in Japan (Tokyo) for a number of years, arriving not long after the devasting Kobe earthquake. I actually met someone who experienced the disaster, and remember them stressing the fact that everyone should always keep an emergency kit bag at the ready. Excellent advice, as Christchurch is a reminder that we too are vulnerable…

    Lovely restful pics..

  4. Hi Roses lace and brocante. The fact that the initial quake hit at 4.30am thankfully meant that most people were tucked up in their beds and not out on the streets. Yep – there’s something about linens that makes my heart beat a little faster also!

  5. Hi Shiree. We didn’t feel anything here in Wairarapa. However, I know that it was felt in Kapiti. Such a worry.

  6. Hi Retrofemme. We have an emergency box here at our house. Prompted us to recheck it and change the water. Would love to live in Japan for a few years!! I’d shop ’till I dropped I’m certain of that!

  7. Poppy Black

     /  September 5, 2010

    Thank you for your thoughts and best wishes! We are fine down here, although it was a rough ride. If you’ve ever been on the earthquake simulator in Te Papa, it was jerky like that, but stronger. Scary!!!! I’ve now got some pieces of china to use for mosaics. XXX

  8. Catherine

     /  September 6, 2010

    lovely

  9. Glad you think so Catherine. Thanks for dropping by. Always lovely to see your name in my inbox.

  10. Such lovely things. My heart stopped at the pile of linens, those always being my favorite. You have a wonderful eye for beauty. I also love the hand printed doilies!

  11. Thank you Phyllis for your lovely comments. You brightened my day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • September 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Archives

  • Meta

