time out

Today I took a day off! Hurrah! It began with morning tea on a building site with Mr TS and then a walk around Greytown for chats with shopkeepers and a browse. I rediscovered paint stripper again and tackled a table. I love the stripped paint look. I think that it will end up in my shop as the packing table. A long, leisurely walk out to country was just lovely. I popped my camera in my pocket first thing and happily snapped away. Here are just a few of my day that I’d like to share.

image: coffee and apple pie for morning tea

image: the vintage tea rooms, greytown

image: greytown library and information centre

image: greytown catholic church

image: wooden metre rule picked up at the salvation army op shop

image: stripped table

image: stripped table waiting for a final sand

image: the long walk (brooklyn road)

image: signs of spring

image: petals and soggy leather boots

image: stream with the best rural fencing

image: cute bridge and views of the tararua mountain range

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. What a lovely little journey… The quiet and stillness (just the thing for rejuvenation) are almost palpable.

  2. Thank you for your beautifully worded comment retrofemme – much appreciated. So glad that you enjoyed my day too!

  3. Catherine

     /  August 25, 2010

    beautiful, have you got a bicycle?
    regards Catherine

  4. You make me determined to have a day out of my own very soon. What a beautiful place you live.

  5. Poppy Black

     /  August 25, 2010

    Heaven! I love pottering, taking time to enjoy the freedom of a day to myself. What pretty buildings. Your lovely table is inspiring. I’ve got some pieces of furniture with varnish on them that I’d like to paint, but I need to strip them first. I guess I’ll need some powerful chemicals or a heat gun thingy (possibly a flame thrower). Any ideas?
    XXX

  6. Hi Catherine! No I don’t have a bicycle. It’s on my Christmas list! I’d love an old fashioned one with a basket on the front. I seem to remember that there’s a company who are making modern bikes in an old fashioned style. Perfect for me! Must try and track them down. Hope that the sun is shining in Brighton this morning. x

  7. Hi Ali, Thank you for dropping by. My August resolution as from yesterday is to have one day a week without work. Wednesdays is when that will happen. We do live in a lovely place. Rural, peaceful, simple and a great community. Enjoy your own day just for you.

  8. Hi Fiona, Mr TS seems to think that regular paint stripper (I got mine from Hammer Hardware) should do the trick. See if a neighbour has an open tub and do a test first perhaps? Yes, I think they’re beautiful buildings. NZ has always reminded me of small town America. That church is right out of Little House on the Prairie. I’m going through a Laura Ingles dress style at the moment. Layers, aprons and bloomers!! Happy weekend pottering. Al x

  9. Martha

     /  August 25, 2010

    Beautiful photos! Doesn’t that one of the Greytown Library and the trees look so wintry, yet in a week or two those trees will probably be busting with blossom (depending on the type of tree that is, not my strong point 🙂 )

  10. Hi Martha, There were little buds on some of the trees already. Sometimes it’s as if they suddenly bloom over night. I don’t know that names of the trees either so you’re not the only one. Thank you for leaving a comment. I wonder if you’ve found time to make any books since the workshop? I do hope so.

  11. Now you’re just teasing me with Greytown photos 😉 We must head over the hill soon.

  12. Yes, Steph – you must! We have a new swanky gallery in Carterton called Red Moa. Try and drop by next time you’re over and I’ll put the kettle on.

  13. I really enjoyed your stroll through Greytown!

    It’s a long time since I was last there, what a lovely country town.
    I believe it’s the star of the Wairarapa now, with lovely shops and cafes.
    It looks so clean, with wide open spaces, unlike the city where I live.

    I have a cousin in Palmy and told her about your classes, so one day we hope to join you and spend a day at “so tread softly” .

    Take care

  14. Hi Shane,

    Pleased that you enjoyed the tour. Greytown is a lovely place to visit. However, great things are starting to happen in Carterton, just another 6 km along SH2. It’s a town that is very much art focused. I do hope that you can get along to one of the workshops at some point.

    Bye for now.

  15. Diana

     /  August 27, 2010

    It all looks just beautiful and I’m very envious! Would love to visit to NZ but it’s a long way to travel (I’m in the south of England!). I do love your work though – discovered it a few weeks ago via another NZ craft blog – and maybe one of these days I will treat myself to something from your shop – so keep busy!
    Bye,
    Diana

  16. Hello Diana,

    So pleased that you found me via another NZ blog. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely comment.

    Yes, NZ is rather lovely. Very different from the South of England but being from there myself I know that it has much to shout about also.

    Bye for now, Alison

  17. Beautiful photo’s!

  18. Thank you Joanna – I appreciate you taking the time to leave such a lovely comment.

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • August 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

