the gladdy

So I’m not very good at recognising when I’m doing too much. In fact, I’m rubbish at it. So it was no surprise last week when my body shut down and I had to spend a few days huddled under a mound of blankets. Feeling much better now and am trying to take more time out to relax and be.

Once the shop had shut yesterday Mr Tread Softly suggested that we drive out to the country (only a few minutes away but it was so good to get out). We ended up at The Gladstone Inn (affectionately known as The Gladdy) in time to watch the sun go down accompanied by a glass of crisp Paddy Borthwick Sauvignon Blanc. Doesn’t really get any better than that. Well, on second thoughts, I’m sure it does but I was more than content with my happy lot.

Hope that you are all remembering to take time out. Whenever you do, can you remind me to do the same? Thanks.

image: the garden at the gladstone inn

 

image: looking across to the ruamahanga river

image: seedheads

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Hope you’re feeling all rested now. I’m like you, my body tells me when it’s had enough.
    Drinks and a sunset in the Wairarapa can only be better if it’s in February with dinner. My idea of Heaven for sure.

  2. it really is good for both the soul … and the body to take time out occasionally
    and what better then a good wine, your favourite man, and those wonderful Wairarapa evenings, you lucky thing you!

  3. I love your beautiful items, I hope you don’t mind but I have put you in the side bar of my blog…hope you are feeling better xxxxx Lynn

  4. Ros

     /  August 24, 2010

    Hi darl
    Glad to hear you are a bit better – thought something was up. Rest, relax – enjoy. That’s an order! 😉 Oh and wonderful photos – they make me homesick..

  5. Martha

     /  August 24, 2010

    Oh dear, funny how our bodies have that way of letting us know in no uncertain terms that we need a break!

    The evening in Gladstone sounds lovely.

  6. Hi Steph, Thank you for dropping by. Feeling well rested and ready to go now. I suppose that listening to your body is a bit of a skill?

  7. Hi Shiree, Have taken your advice. Today I took time out! Hooray!

  8. Hi Lynn, Thank you for your lovely comment. I emailed you directly but sometimes my emails get caught up in spam boxes. I don’t mind one bit that you’ve linked your blog to my shop. In fact, I think it’s a very generous thing that you’ve done. THANK YOU! Feeling much better thanks. Hope that all is well in Blighty.

  9. Hi Ros,

    So they made you homesick? That’s how I feel every time I read your blog! What a pair we are!! Love to you and Blightly.

  10. Hi Martha,

    Great to see your name pop up on the blog. Yes, the evening was rather lovely and peaceful.

  11. Thank you it was lovely to hear from you, I have replied but my webmail is being truculent, so I am just making sure xxxxx

  12. Hi Lynn,

    Great that we have our blogs to make doubly sure that emails have arrived. However, there is no sign of your reply. Have just checked my spam mail online and there’s no sign.

    From my home to yours. Alison

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • August 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

