the post where I hand over to my mum

I’m still without my posh camera so I have my Mum to thank for most of the photos on this post. Thanks Mum!

When my folks were here my Mum helped me out in the studio, restocking the shop and getting ready for the March fair. She did, however have time for a project or two of her own and really took to the process of printing images onto fabric and embellishing them with stitches. She chose a photo of their cottage back in England and worked on that whilst sitting on the deck in the glorious sunshine.

image: my mum at work

I forgot to take a photo of the completed piece so she did it for me once she’d returned home. It’s a fabulously textural.  Didn’t she good a great job?

image: completed project

She also sent me these two photos.Whilst walking into the village, she spotted something white up in the tree and realised that it was an owl.

image: owl in a tree

It wasn’t until she got closer that she saw that it was a china owl that someone had put up there. It did make her chuckle!

image: ‘china’ owl in a tree!

Until next time…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I feel I could walk into that embellished image by your Mum. It’s beautiful.

  2. So nice to see you back Alison and I’m guessing you had a wonderful time while your family visited. Your mum’s stitchery of her cottage (gorgeous) is so pretty – and I just know she was thrilled to see your shop and help you out. I always loved it when my mum came over here, usually staying 3-4 weeks. In the later years she was just happy to sit at home, helping me with the lamp shades I used to sew, we shared stories of life during those ‘stitching times’ together. Those memories are some of my favorites.

    Alison – I now have a new blog due to problems with Google storage and not being able to post anymore pics on ACROSS THE POND. You can now find me here (I was going to quit but I guess blogging has become a bit of an addition!).

    A BREATH OF FRESH AIR
    http://abreathoffreshair-mary.blogspot.com

    Hope you will stop by when you have a moment – always a pleasure to hear from you. I have a huge trip coming up – an African safari – so will be sharing stories come Summer!!

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • March 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

