holi – delay

image: taupo’s volcanic beach

This is pretty much the only holiday photo I have access to right now. I managed to fill up several memory cards whilst I was away but it seems that my camera has been damaged (my fault entirely) and has been sent away to be fixed. I’m preparing myself for the bill but if you can just hang on for a little longer then I’d love to share my holiday photos with you in a couple of weeks time – or so that chap in the camera shop said.

The holiday house swap was a huge success. It was just so lovely to be close to water again. Beside Taupo Lake really is such a tranquil place to be. Even though it was wonderful to get back to our little wooden cottage in the country I am missing the calmness that the lake instills in me. We have plans to pop back next month as there’s an interesting looking book making workshop that I’d like to attend.

Mr Tread Softly and I worked out that we haven’t had a proper holiday away for two and a half years! Can you believe that? I love my work but it was just so nice to kick back for a couple of weeks reading, playing the tourist, eating out, walking/watching/sitting by the lake, spending time with loved ones, drinking coffee and taking deep, satisfying breaths. Here’s to more of the same every year!

I’m right back into the swing of things now as I prepare for the final Martinborough Fair of the season next Saturday. The following week I’m planning a big website update and will start work on consignments and private orders. As I busy myself with that, let me just share with you two beautiful gifts that I was recently lucky enough to be given by smashing friends. The first is a Ramari doll hand stitched by Leanne with fine strands of her own hair and the second is a gorgeous wire and paper crown hand crafted by Lisa Harman. They are both living in the lounge (the art pieces, not Leanne and Lisa!) so that I see their gorgeousness every day.

image: linen and silk hand stitched doll

image: doll detail

image: wire and paper crown

Until next time…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Oh darn you and that handsome Mr Tready Softly won’t be temping me with your adorable linen baby shoes at Craft 2.0. They really did call me with their siren song when I was across the room from you, it was torturous!
    Good luck for the Martinborough Fair!

  2. Welcome home, so pleased you had a lovely break. Love the paper crown, how gorgeous! xx

  3. Hi Alison,

    Just catching up with your blog. Looks like everything is going well. The weather here is pants so I am glad to see some lovely sunshine over your side of the world.

    take care.

    Woo

  4. Ooh I love the paper crown! You have received an award over at my blog, but please play along only if you feel like it! No pressure 🙂

  5. GeeB

     /  March 11, 2010

    Lovely One your entire life is a holiday!

  6. nice still lifes… hope you brought some of your holiday home

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • March 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

