culinary discovery

Isn’t it great when you make a new discovery? Well, I say new, but I’ll put money on every person in the Antipodes knowing about the culinary ‘zen’ genius that is Donna Hay.

image: ‘the instant cook’ + sweetpeas from the garden (the house is filled with them right now)

Being a diehard Jamie fan I rarely give other chef a second glance but, I had a $20 book token to spend and our amazing local independent booksellers just so happened to have a sale on, so for $19.99 I decided to expand my culinary horizons.

image: last night’s supper

I wasn’t sorry. The book is overflowing with incredible, achievable recipes using the freshest of ingredients which, is pretty lucky as our vegetable garden is going crazy right now.

image: our veg patch

 We usually take it in turns to cook the evening meal but Mr Tread Softly hasn’t been able to get near the kitchen since I came home with this book…and oddly enough, he’s not complaining!

Until next time…

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Donna Hay is here in the UK (though not huge) and I adore her food styling – so simple, elegant and most important appetizing.

    And my heart soared at the words ‘independent bookshop’ – glad you showed yours some love.

  2. What a delicious dinner and a beautiful vege patch!! Congratulations on the lovely story in the NZ House & Garden, I enjoyed seeing your lovely home very much.

  3. your garden has me pea green (pun intended) with envy.

  4. Yum looks great! I’m terrible I have lots of nice cook books but hardly ever use them. I have a Donna Hay magazine subscription. Whats in the salad? Can see pear and blue cheese?

  5. Hi there,
    great cooks, with wonderul culinary inspiration indeed, your garden looks so healthy and inviting!
    I caught up with your NZ H&G article, well done!

  6. Geraldine

     /  January 9, 2010

    Hi Alison

    Just wanted to say that your parents let me borrow the NZ H&G mag for a few days. Your house is really lovely and the colours are so calming. I understand that your shop has become very busy following the article. The mag is excellent and I even copied down a recipe that I liked the look of.

    Your organic veg patch looks the picture of health and it was nice to see the sunshine as we have lots of the white stuff everywhere.

    Your mum and dad are excited about their forthcoming visit and I believe are already looking out their summer clothes.

    Best wishes
    Geraldine

  7. Hi Alison,

    Great articles – you must be delighted.
    I too was given a gorgeous cook book for Christmas and have been inspired to cook from it. I will do a blog later in the month after I have cooked a few more things!

  8. Yes Kerrianne, I’m really pleased with the artcile. The response has been crazy. Can’t sew fast enough at the moment. Happy cooking!

  9. Thank you for the mention Claribell. You do realise that I only show the nice parts of the garden on the blog. There’s plenty of it that needs some TLC!!

  10. Hello Geraldine. Mum and Dad said that they’d lent you the magazine. Thank you for your very kind comments. We see the trouble that white stuff is causing you all back in the UK. We had a satalite shot of the UK on the front page of the weekend paper and it was totally white. Unheard off. Take care when you venture out. Bye for now, Alison

  11. Thank you Shiree. Appreciate you dropping my the blog.

  12. I dressed the salad leave with a touch of walnut oil. Pretty expensive stuff but you only need a few drops so lovely as a treat. I crisped up some bacon to keep Mr Tread Softly happy and used up a couple of slices of parma ham. I also added walnuts. It’s a lovely meal, especially when the sun is shining.

  13. …groan…! Nice to hear from you Kat.

  14. Your vege patch looks glorious!

  1. leeks + sun + rain + holiday « claribell

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • January 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives

  • Meta

