wairarapa fabric workshop

printing onto fabric 4

image: alice printed and embroidered pillow

We’re so lucky here in the Wairarapa to have an amazing art centre called King Street Artworks.  It’s open to everyone in the community and is absolutely free. How fabulous is that?! It’s run by a team of talented artists who are there to encourage, advise and support you at whatever creative stage you are at.

I was approached by them recently and have been asked to run a workshop entitled ‘Printing photographic images onto Fabric’. It will run on Thursday 17th September and will be repeated on Friday 18th. The workshop is limited to 12 participants per day and will begin at 10am and finish at 3pm.

printing onto fabric

image: ‘in my mother’s garden’ detail – photographic printing onto antique linen

If you would like to secure a place then please call 06 378-9777. If you could leave your name and address I hope to be sending out a letter to all participants prior to the workshop.

Until next time…

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Oh my. what a wonderful treat to have such a community resource. I’ve never encountered anything such as that. And I do have to say how fortunate your students will be to have your expertise…..

  2. Hello there,
    good luck with your workshop, I am sure you will all have so much fun, and such wonderful learning. I would, love to come if I lived a bit closer but a bit pushed for time currently,
    have lots of fun!
    Shiree

  3. That is something I would love to learn about – if I wasn’t half way round the world I’d be there!
    You are lucky to have such a fab centre to use and share skills.

  4. Alison, these are absolutely gorgeous! I would be at your workshop in a heartbeat if I lived there. Love how you added the simple embroidery over the image – giving the finished piece more depth but still keeping the clean, fresh look. Great job!!

  5. this embroidery is a lovely texture and shade

  6. Emma

     /  September 25, 2009

    I stumbled across your blog after reading a description of it as ‘so peaceful and calming’, I can’t agree more!

    The artists centre sounds wonderful, and I agree with french Knots…I’d have been at your workshop in a heartbeat.

    I’d been wanting to experiment with photgraphic print on fabric but had no idea where to start…can you give me any tips please?

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • August 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

  • Meta

