an agnes coy update

Today the air is thick with the sweet, heady smell of lavender.

trumpet and lavender1

image: trumpet and dried lavender

I usually buy my lavender rubbings from here but last week a very kind and thoughtful customer dropped off a huge box of cut dried lavender for me that she had no use for so, today I’ve been out on the deck along with Trumpet removing the flowers from the stalks.

trumpet and lavender2

image:the ever helpful trumpet

Our garden needs some work – and I mean, real work. It needs…umm…an identity. Yes, that’s it, more of an identity. I’m always inspired by Elspeth’s gardens and think that a little raised bed around our deck would be a great start. Our deck doesn’t look completed somehow but I think that raised bedding would do the trick. Nope, I’m not going to show you a photo of the deck but perhaps once the project is complete, I’ll do one of those before and after posts for you.

Some of the lavender rubbings will be used to fill this little pillow that I’m working on right now.

trumpet and lavender6

image: in my mothers garden lavender pillow

I don’t think that I’ll ever get tired of working with antique French hemp linen. It has such depth and, I’m sure, so many stories to tell.

In the studio I’ve also been working on some large jute and ticking boxes. I needed something in the cottage for my magazines and was so pleased with the result that I decided to make a handful for the shop.

trumpet and lavender3

image: jute and ticking boxes

These’ little linen bags for little girls’ seemed to be a big hit at last weeks Craft 2.0 fair in Wellington.

trumpet and lavender5

image: little line bags for little girls

Next Sunday I’ll be here at Blacksmiths. They’re having a Ladies Pamper day with food, wine and a stall selling unique products in each of their beautifully decorated bedrooms. It should be a lot of fun. If you’re interested in visiting then give them a call. Admission, without food and wine is $8  and with, it’s $25.

I made two hearts out of beautiful faded linen this week for a special customer. I think that I’ll make some more for next Sunday, well, I’ll add them to the bottom of my never ending list of things to make anyway!

trumpet and lavender4

image: faded lavender hearts

Until next time…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. hudsonandbridges

     /  August 2, 2009

    ‘ere Bird…. have a look at what Chris and I managed to do with his roof after 17 years:
    http://www.garyblair.co.uk/htm
    Bit of inspiration for you and your deck?

    Gx

  2. hudsonandbridges

     /  August 2, 2009

    ‘ere Bird…. have a look at what Chris and I managed to do with his roof after 17 years:
    http://www.garyblair.co.uk/deck.htm
    Bit of inspiration for you and your deck?

    Gx

  3. lovestitches

     /  August 2, 2009

    Ironically and unfortunately for me the one weekend I was over your way you were at Craft 2.0! Doh! I must time it better to get a peek at the eye candy in your studio!

  4. Thank you so much for the mention – and for drawing my attention to your lovely blog and the gorgeous things you make! I only wish you were not so far away in New Zealand! I shall enjoy exploring your site.
    All good wishes,
    x Elspeth

  5. I love the little bags……

    Say hi to Ian (my husband) on Sunday, he is the chef at Blacksmiths and he will be working that day. Long time no see, should catch up soon. xx

  6. I have loads of lavender bunches hanging up dry and ready for me to rub the flowers off – it’s a job that hangs over me, time-consuming and one that little people never want to help with! Yet if I don’t do it I will miss that lavender all year!

    Just discovered your blog – I just had to look at a blog named Tread Softly – I am a bit of a dreamer myself!

    Pomona x

  7. Anne Clinton-Baker

     /  November 19, 2009

    Hello Alison

    I have just seen you in the Wairarapa News and prompted me to look up your website re the lavender I dropped off earlier in the year – love the cat, mine would be sleeping in the middle of the box! I hope you had a successful day at Rathkeale, the committee is thrilled with the result, thank you very much for being there.

    Regards
    Anne
    Gladstone

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • August 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

  • Meta

