queens birthday weekend

Here in New Zealand we get a holiday seeing that it’s the Queen’s birthday. Mr Tread Softly decided to take Friday off as well so that it was an extra, extra long weekend. Even though the weather has been appalling (it actually snowed here in Carterton for 30 seconds yesterday), we’ve still managed to cram plenty in with a real work – rest balance. Here’s a smidgen of the past few days in pictures…

 walldisplaya

image: linen, silk + lace corsage – a make for me

walldisplayb

image: the most delicious minestrone soup (made by Mr TS) warmed us up throughout the weekend

walldisplayd

image: completed a series of lace embroidered and beaded neck laces for the shop (update: all sold)  and Aratoi

walldisplayc

image: neck lace up close

walldisplaye

image: work in progress – memory necklace

walldisplayf

image: work in progress

walldisplayg

image: Mr TS building a new path

walldisplayh

image: hung a found and precious object display on a blank wall in the lounge

walldisplayj

image: local art exhibition. We managed to visit two of them this weekend

walldisplayk

image: trumpet. We still managed to do plenty of this in between tasks and outings

I wanted to thank all so very much for your beautiful comments regarding the last post. I think that I managed to reply to each of them. Quite often I manage to end up in peoples spam mail boxes so check there is you didn’t hear from me. The gentleman’s story obviously touched you as much as it did me. If I bump into him again I’ll ask him about his daughters reaction to the gowns and will let you know.

The best thing that happened this weekend was last nights webcam chat with my folks when they told me that they’d just brought two return tickets to New Zealand. They’ll be here for my birthday early next year. So excited that I couldn’t sleep! Am already making plans and day dreaming about how wonderful it will be to have them here again. I miss them so much.

Keep warm if you’re in the South Pacific and enjoy enjoy the glorious sunshine if you’re not. I’m about to curl up on the settee under a blanket and begin this book.

Until next time…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Our Queen’s birthday weekend is next weekend. Hope I have as lovely a time as you did! Love your photos that told the story!

  2. You didnt reply to my comment AL!!!!! You have forgotten me already!

  3. Catherine

     /  June 2, 2009

    well done Al, the lace necklace is beautiful, it really is lovely along with all the work you and Mr TS have done over the summer. i was jealous of the sunshine you had when it started i was so bored of the cold, now i am sittling here with a cold flannel on my head wilting in the heat and am looking longingly at the onset of your winter, funny really!!!
    regards as always catherine

  4. You sound like you enjoyed every minute of your extra long weekend even though winter has certainly arrived. I love the way your cat has found such a warm and cosy place to sleep – don’t they just have wonder skill at seeking at those spots.

  5. Those dresses are exquisite! I love the found and precious object display – can I borrow that idea?

  6. Myra

     /  June 3, 2009

    A great record of a productive weekend with lots achieved. You are soo soo good at telling the story and captivating the reader – that soup looks fantastic – I could almost smell and taste it
    Your creations always impress as does Trumpet – life is so good, no wonder your folks want another taste.
    Roll on their visit

  1. //o^_^o\ wakarimasen.org » Blog Archive » le idee del lunedì #8 – come scaldarsi senza alzare il riscaldamento

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • June 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Archives

  • Meta

