the gift

I’m loving having my shop and studio open to the public. The wonderful thing is, you never know who’s going to be dropping by next. A couple of weeks ago, having seen this article about me in the Dominion Post, a gentleman from a neighbouring town called in carrying a large, grand looking box, made, he later told me, by a local book binder. He wanted me to look inside the box before telling me his idea. Inside was the most beautiful antique wedding gown that had been worn by his mother at the beginning on the last century. The delicate age marks, for me, only added to it’s beauty.

wedding dress pillow2

image: antique wedding gown

wedding dress pillow3

image: the wonderfully bound box lid

He told me that he had another boxed wedding dress at home that his own late wife had worn on their special day and he’d decided that he wanted to give them to each of his two daughters. He told me that he’d decided to have a bespoke box made for each and then when he’d read about me and the fact that I tend to use locally grown lavender in my hand mades, he’d thought of another idea. He wanted me to make two lavender pillows that would sit beneath the folds of each of the gowns. We talked though some ideas, he chose a silk thread and some simple text and left me to it. I used antique linen and cotton which seemed very appropriate.

wedding dress pillow1

image: wedding dress pillows

The following week he returned to collect the pillows and was clearly pleased with them. He told me that Friday was his birthday and a celebration had been planned with many of his friends and family. After the dinner he said that he would leave the room, collect the two boxes and present them to each of his daughters. How I would have loved to have been a fly on the wall at those celebrations. The thought and effort that had gone into those gifts, I’m not ashamed to say, brought a tear to my eye. What a lovely, lovely man he is.

Until next time…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. oh this is such a tear jerker story, what a privilege to be a part of this wonderful piece of history, I am so touched, and yes indeed … he is a truly wonderful man, I hope that both his daughter appreciate this…

  2. Floss

     /  May 13, 2009

    Beautiful story, how lucky you were to be a part of it.

  3. What a beautiful story that also brought a tear to my eyes as well. He must be such a lovely man to have those beautiful boxes made for his daughters. It is such a lovely idea. Your lavendar sachets look beautiful too!

  4. lovestitches

     /  May 13, 2009

    What a lovely idea and story 🙂

  5. just stunning in word and image~elk

  6. I would love to see the gown out of it’s box, the fabric is stunning. xx

  7. Julia

     /  May 14, 2009

    I have never left a comment but after reading this i have been moved to do so!! What a very special man he is. Such a delightful story, I’m glad you shared it with us altho i did have to reach for the tissues!!!

  8. +marzipan+

     /  May 15, 2009

    How enchanting!

  9. Mary Poppins

     /  May 15, 2009

    What a charming story, thank you so much for sharing with us 🙂

    Like Julia reached over for a tissue or two, or three 😉

    X

  10. What a wonderful man and wonderful story – thank you for sharing. Like you I would have loved to have seen his daughters expressions upon being gifted such a wonderful treasure. What a privilege for you to be involved in those gifts. Hugs Jx

  11. Wow, brings a tear to my eye too. What a beautiful story and what a fabulous idea to give them to his daughters in beautiful boxes and with your beautiful pillows. I love how the boxes had the names and dates of the wedding as well 🙂

  12. Myra

     /  May 25, 2009

    What a beautifully sensitive soul, and who better to come to to make his idea come to fruition – together you have produced such gems

  13. Hi Alison, I’m back from Devon and have to say that I don’t ever remember such a beautiful Spring in England! Bluebell woods, flowering chestnut trees, lambs by the hundreds, gardens spilling over with the most beautiful flowers……childhood memories rampant!!

    Why do we leave our homes? Of course the reasons are many. I now find the older I get the more I wish I could go back……..to stay!!!

    I made tiny ‘memory pillows’ from a woman’s mother’s hankies some years back – she wanted to give them to her family members. They turned out so pretty – she cried when she came to collect them!

  14. oh beautiful story, such a treasure to be part of it! and perfect little pillows for the job

  15. What a fascinating, and LOVELY, story!

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • May 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives

  • Meta

