use what you have

Today is a Bank Holiday and we've spent most of it in the garden planting the vegetables that should see us through the summer months. Last year we were pretty much self sufficient when it came to salads and vegetables. We now have 5 vegetable beds (with a sixth one on the way next weekend) but we've still managed to run out of space, so I've been hunting around the garage and garden for vessels to plant in.
Usewhat Old clay pipes are just perfect for garlic.
Usewhat4
I added a few to our herb garden. Mint, chives and parsley look very at home in them.
Usewhat3
I adore old terracotta flower pots. This one I picked up at a garage sale for 10cents. The metal wall sconce was a dollar.
Usewhat1 We tend to use mixed leaves everyday. These wooden fruit boxes sit just outside our back door so that we can grab handfuls of salad whenever we need it.
Usewhat2 I found this metal laundry bucket at the local Op Shop. Mr Tread Softly drilled some holes in the bottom for me and I planted a beach grass and some white trailing labelia which, in time, should spill over the top of the rim.

Using what you have instead of spending goodness knows how much on pots from the garden centre, kind of makes complete sense to me.

Before I sign off, do you mind another photo of Trumpet? It's just that he was looking particularly photogenic today!

Usewhat5

Until next time..

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Great garden ideas – your plants look great. There’s something wonderful about eating food you have grown yourself!

  2. Clay pipes! What a great idea.xx

  3. Your garden is looking great – I wish I were more disciplined about pots and containers – the watering always gets away from me in the end.

  4. The perfect way to recycle!

  5. Those are some wonderful ideas for container gardening. I’ve got an old tin bucket in the shed which would look lovely planted up next summer. I do envy you that you’re looking forward to the summer in NZ, here in the UK it’s now dark by 5.00 pm and the forecast for the week is winds from the arctic – brrr!!

  6. I never mind pictures of Trumpet! I like the way his whiskers seem to glisten in the sunlight.
    Your garden inspires me!

  7. we just ripped everything but a row of fennel, & one of scallions from our beds. it was painful, but they were all in need of new soil, & loads of amendments.
    for now i’ll drool over your lovely springtime plantings. i love the bucket, & the wooden boxes. great job!

  8. What a great way to use old pipes! Your kitty is adorable! I am so envious, I miss my little baby. Beautiful pictures!

  9. It’s great to work in the garden and use what you have. You have more than you can imagine. And the best food it what you grown yourself. I love your idea

  10. Hey Al,
    Your garden looks wonderful. It’s pouring down here and really dull so the pictures of your lovely sunny garden were most welcome.
    Woo.
    xx

  11. Trumpet is adorable! The more pics the merrier! He’s so cute and looks so wise.

  12. I love love love the pics of your garden. Very inspiring, but I hope that inspiration can last til April!
    I envy your upcoming season, not so much mine!
    And Trumpet is adorable, as always.

  13. Charlotte

     /  November 5, 2008

    I love Trumpet. He’s such a handsome boy! And always seems to ‘go’ so well with your lovely things.
    Does he have a NZ meow?!

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • October 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

