hand-made

As from next Tuesday I just have 6 more weeks left at dress making class before the end of the Adult Ed academic year. I'm seriously considering enrolling again next year as it seems to be the only time when I allow myself to make things for me. I've recently completed a tunic top that my sewing tutor will be pleased to hear, I've worn several times already. I like to layer it.

Handmade3 

Look at my feet! A touch of the Mary Poppins methinks! Here's a closer look at the finished garment. It's made from fine knit in an olive green which is my favourite colour to wear.

Handmade1 

I took the pattern from an existing tunic of mine but I added the little inverted pleats that create a soft drape at the front bodice. I've been playing around with printing photos onto fabric  and decided to sew a label onto the outside of the tunic. It's a photo of my Grandma and her Mum so my Great Grandmother.

Handmade2 

I know that I like to be colour co-ordinated, but this is ridiculous! My current knitting project matches my tunic top!

Handmade4 

Until next time…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Hi Alison
    good to ‘see’ you back – I’ve missed your lovely posts. What a fab outfit – and in my favourite colour too. The label adds a clever personal touch – could become your new designer label?
    Mary x

  2. How pretty. Great work.

  3. How totally gorgeous do you look?! I am in love with your whole outfit, but your shoes I would swipe in a nanosecond.

  4. Geeb

     /  October 7, 2008

    Feet off the table, young lady!

  5. Karen

     /  October 8, 2008

    Hello Alison, I just found your blog a few days ago and have enjoyed stopping by. Sewing has been a part of my life forever, and the photos of your fabrics and projects are eye candy at its best:)

  6. Hi Alison,
    Thanks for your email. Cripes I LOVE your shoes. Where did you get them from? They are heavenly.
    Woo.
    x

  7. Hi Alison,
    Thanks for your email. Cripes I LOVE your shoes. Where did you get them from? They are heavenly.
    Woo.
    x

  8. Hi Alison,
    Thanks for your email. Cripes I LOVE your shoes. Where did you get them from? They are heavenly.
    Woo.
    x

  9. Gorgeous top- and I love your style. That green is a fav of mine too, but I can’t wear it near my face. Layers seem to be the perfect answer!

  10. The tunic looks great, and the little photo tag of your mom and grandmom is darling!

  11. Love your sewing Ali. The photo is lovely. There is a company here called Joules that uses old photos as their clothes tags. They look great and so does yours. Love the shoes – so Woo (she left her comment 3 x!) and I would like to know where you got them from or are they normal black shoes with liquid paper dots?!?!?!??!
    Love Emma xxxxx
    PS got all your emails about the pumpkin man. I will blog some photos for you after we visit.

  12. Hi, good to see you back hope you had a nice break. We live in a great country so you must have a great time. Your sewing looks fantastic so keep going.

  13. Yay, you are back and a had a few lovely posts to catch up on, lucky me! Your little cushions are so cute and I totally love your tunic top!!!! I am so desperate to learn how to sew, my parents have just told me to buy myslef a sewing machine for Christmas so I am super excited….
    Your little labels are fabulous, really brilliant idea. Oh yeah and I LOVE your shoes, where did your get them????????
    Have a lovely day, hopefully wearing your flip flops, never be able to get used to calling them jandels myself…X

  14. I LOVE that outfit! shoes! Colors!

  15. I am so impressed with your beautiful top and wonderful label…congratulations on all you have accomplished in such a short time in your new homeland!

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • October 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

