For the past couple of weeks I've been feeling Christmassy. I'm used to Christmas happening slap bang in the middle of winter so it's no surprise that I struggle with it taking place during the NZ summer. A new country and a simplified lifestyle surely means that we can invent and introduce our own new traditions? So this weekend we planned to get down and get Christmassy and it being winter solstice just seemed liked perfection. We decided to share it with other British folk, people who can relate to wrapping up warm, sitting in front of the fire with a glass of mulled wine and celebrating. Our new tradition is simple. We drink, eat, exchange small gifts and toast those we love and all that we know back at home. Here are just a few shared moments:

Wintersolsticeshare1

image: sewing placemats on solstice morning whilst Trumpet watched on

Wintersolsticeshare2

image: solstice dining table with twinkle lights

Wintersolsticeshare3

image: let the eating begin!

Until next time…

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. What a good idea, a new tradition to connect with the heart.
    Your sewing helper look very knowledgeable!

  2. What a terrific idea. I love Christmas – any excuse to celebrate it twice!

  3. I know how you feel, I am also an English gal living in NZ. We went out the other evening and it felt like bonfire night! I think that a mid winter Christmas is a great idea, what a FAB way to brighten up winter!!!! Think I might have one myself.. thanks for the inspiration X

  4. Lovely Living

     /  June 23, 2008

    what a great idea, we were planning to put on the christmas tree this weekend. I realy miss the dutch christmas. And I’m quilting a christmas wallhanger at the moment , just because of the christmas feeling.

  5. I love my Christmas barbecues but I would love a midwinter holiday just once. This looks so cosy! And I love your little helper, mine is nothing but a nuisance when I sew.

  6. That is such a sweet idea, your photos look so warm and inviting! xx

  7. deborah dulcie

     /  June 23, 2008

    Love this blog, very inspiring and now want to get my own sewing machine!! Any recommendations for an able but beginner

  8. oh Trumpet you are just too cute for words.

  9. Myra

     /  June 24, 2008

    Tis a wonderful tradition indeed.
    You have captured the warmth and celebratory feelings associated with the northern hemisphere Christmas. Its always great to share and enjoy good food and company – you do it so well.
    Cute – Trumpet

  10. I love this post Alison, such a fabulous idea. And Mr Trumpet, could you be any cuter?!

  11. Our NZ friends said it was a change for them to celebrate Christmas when they moved to the states – they were so used to sunbathing at the time not freezing weather. I just recently read that some NZ’s celebrate Christmas twice – once in mid-winter and once in December.

  12. What a nice thing to do to make yourself feel at home in your new home.
    Does Trumpet ever lash out and try to ‘capture’ the machine foot? Because my cat does, and it stresses me out a lot (also now I have to sew VERY slowly).

  13. Just stopping by quickly to let you know that I’ve moved blog homes, you can now find me at:
    http://catondarlingandmoore.blogspot.com
    Hope you can drop by sometime, I’ll be back soon to catch up with you.

  14. quite a lovely idea. way to bloom where you are planted!
    ~peace.

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • June 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Archives

  • Meta

