wearables

Back in February I joined a dress making evening class at our local college. It's just for two hours a week and even though I haven't been able to attend each session due to regular work commitments, I've managed to produce two garments. If it wasn't for those precious two hours where I allow myself to indulge, they simply wouldn't exist.

Sewingclass_post1

I have a dark chocolate and teal thing going on right now as you will see. This is a kimono top with ruched gathers at the waist.

Sewingclass_post2

It took a while to come together and consequently, I've gone right off it and haven't worn it yet!

Sewingclass_post3

Hoping that it will grow on me as it took soooo long to make!

My second garment I really do like.

Sewingclass_post4

I have a Carly Harris dress (NZ designer) and decided to take a pattern from it. I chose a beautiful fluid silk which was really tricky to use as it's so slippery.

Sewingclass_post5

The dress has a definite 1920's feel to it and looks great over jeans or trousers. I'm desperate to make more. Just need to lay my hands on some more silk.

Sewingclass_post6

Next week I'll be starting something new. Not sure what it's going to be yet but I'll keep you posted.

Do you mind if I end with a photo of Trumpet? Indulge me? This was taken last night. He'd just woken up for a long sleep.

Sewing class_post

Until next time…

Next Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. The top and dress both look lovely, beautiful fabrics too. I’m looking forward to seeing what you make next.

  2. Amanda

     /  June 15, 2008

    Wow!!!!!!!! Alison you never cease to amaze me, I love both items that you have sewn, but like you I love the flow of your gorgeous dress, you are so clever at everything that you do, a real inspiration. And dear Trumpet what a cute face he looks just like a child thats woken up after a long nap!! Warm Wishes Alison.Regards Amanda.

  3. Poppy Black

     /  June 15, 2008

    I love the clothes! You are so clever. No time for sewing around her. Just frantic gardening and organising. Trumpet looks so cute with his rumply fur and his sleepy face. XXX

  4. Well done. I have always wanted to make some clothes and would love to do a class. Pasha and I love watching Project Catwalk and Project Runway – I am sure you are very considered when doing your sewing. Knowing me I would end up flinging the garment across the room as I no doubt got entangled with cotton and sequins! Love Emma x

  5. The silk top/dress is gorgeous! Well done. Trumpet is awfully cute too.

  6. Nice work! I thought of Carly Harris as soon as I saw that second one.

  7. Wow, the dress is absolutely STUNNING!! This has really inspired me to get off my butt and do something about wanting to how to sew……X

  8. Gorgeous! I love the fabric from the kimona. Realy nice job. x

  9. That dress/top is lovely- you are very clever! I have been dressmaking for years and I dread slippery silks, you must be gifted!

  10. Lovely Living

     /  June 19, 2008

    I love the dress and the fabric. Well done, great inspiration.

  11. Hi
    Thanks for your lovely comments again about my rather pathetic attempts at papier mache. Yes you are right you make the basic shape using masking tape and newspaper and then do a two layers of newspaper and wallpaper glue. It took the whole of the first day just to make the shapes. It is great not doing the whole inside in papier mache though because it dries much faster – you have to bake them in the oven on a low heat for about 20 – 30 minutes! Dont go out leaving them in – a bit tricky on the old insurance claim form details otherwise! Yes, I left a papier mache rabbit cooking in my oven!
    I would have loved it for us to both have gone together. Perhaps when you come over next we could plan a trip together. Miss you oh creative one!
    Love Emmaxxx

  12. Ange

     /  June 21, 2008

    If you don’t wear any of them send them to me !!!! they are beautiful!!!!!! Watching England V NZ in the cricket at mo and thinking of you two ! xxxxxxxx

  13. Oh, that dress is just gorgeous. Did you draft the pattern yourself or is it an adaptation?

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • June 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Archives

  • Meta

