time spent

It’s been a bit quiet on the blogging front of late as Mr Tread Softly and I have been away on holiday exploring Christchurch and Akaroa on New Zealand’s South Island. We also managed to catch up for dinner with the super glamorous Poppy Black and her husband. Wonderful to meet her in person. We spent the entire evening me, talking for England and her, for New Zealand! Looking forward to the next time

Holiday2

image: sunset over Christchurch. PB on left, me on right

Time was also spent…

Holiday6

…here, at our little homestay…

Holiday9

…sitting on sea grass chairs in the garden with a mountain of books…

Holiday15

…and occasionally glancing up to take in the fabulous view…

Holiday20

…walking along hilltops…

Holiday16

…along jetties…

Holiday12

…and along promenades at dusk…

We’re home now, refreshed and ready to start preparing for probably my favourite and final fair of the season, The French Fair.

Until next time…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Myra

     /  March 24, 2008

    Welcome home.
    Lovely to see your snap shots of the south – such beauty. I think Akaroa is such a spiritual place and offers peace tranquility and recharging.
    Looking forward to catching up soon

  2. Oh, so so envious of you! I hope we’ll be able to visit Akaroa one day, maybe next summer. And I suppose we should go to Christchurch too and meet Dave’s mother, I’ve avoided it for over a year.
    I hope I can make it to the French Fair, we went to Greytown this weekend and any excuse to get back to that region and drool over the shops.

  3. Poppy Black

     /  March 24, 2008

    How lovely to be super glamorous! I am currently going through an anti-China (the country, not the pretty vessels) phase. I am completely tired of discovering that every item of clothing I am wearing is made in China. Just when Helen (our intrepid Prime Minister) is busy working on free trade deals with China. So I am going to have to start making my own (then the fabric will probably all be Chinese). I should be ranting on my own blog! So fabulous to be together last week. Akaroa looked just divine. I love it over there so much. Come back soon! XXX

  4. Welcome home Alison. xx

  5. kelly

     /  March 25, 2008

    So glad you had a good time. When I see pics of NZ, I think it has the best views of any country! I just love it. great pics Al.

  6. Looks deeevine! 🙂

  7. What wonderful photos love your blog angie

  8. Crikey New Zealand looks absolutely gorgeous. That view and the cottage is beautiful. How wonderful.

  9. Jennifer Mary Masters

     /  November 23, 2008

    Just came across your website while perusing House and Garden on-line -I’m a painter, gardener, writer, and your suggestions for growing garlic caught my eye!
    What a charming website! For a homesick Kiwi, your photos are a total delight! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • March 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

  • Meta

