fabric source tip

The second Martinborough Fair was a huge success. The weather was kind, I met some great people and sold some hand mades along the way. I’m busy working now towards the French Fair that takes place the first weekend in April. I’m finding it difficult to get going this week. I think what I should have done was to put one day aside to get new supplies but with a planned holiday with Mr TS on the horizon, I was eager to get sewing and replenish my stock. I did, however, find time to buy a new pair of shoes that I LOVE.

Newshoes

I spend heaps on fabric. Surprised? Didn’t think so. I like to buy as much as I can from Op Shops and garage sales but I’ve also recently discovered the joys of the home decor store. We have one in our small town and they have rows of rows of sample fabrics that you can order. Every once in a while they stop stocking a certain line so bundle up the samples and sell them at $2 a roll. I came away this week having spent $14 on a bag crammed with beautiful gauze linens and cottons. Ideal for applique and smaller crafts. Here are some of my favourites…

Fabricbargains

Fabricbargains1

These were metre lengths

Fabricbargains2

I know that many of the decor stores just throw their samples away so it’s well worth popping in and asking them to save them for you.

Until next time…

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. hey that is a good tip, those fabrics look very peaceful .

  2. Excellent tip, thanks! And what the French Fair and where is it? I love French anything!

  3. Gorgeous fabrics and a great way to buy them too xx

  4. The fabrics look super, a lovely range of colours.
    I have given you an award on my blog so please join in if you’d like to.

  5. Cool shoes

  6. Myra

     /  March 8, 2008

    LOVE the shoes, and gorgeous fabrics. Pleased you had such a good fair day – you deserve a break to recharge some.

  7. Wow! Thanks for the tip on the samples. What a bragain you found and gorgeous colours too!!

  8. Mum

     /  March 8, 2008

    I like the shoes, very smart and comfortable looking. The fabrics are nice colours, now get your thinking cap on and make them into something else which will please your crafty customers. Look forward to seeing some more amazing items.

  9. whisty@btinternet.com

     /  March 9, 2008

    Alison
    Can you help me work out how to resize a photo for posting on my blog? I am stuck!
    Lots of love Emma x

  10. Hello, I have just found your blog and am intending to now put the kettle on, and read it for a while, it’s fab. Thank you! Hope the weather in NZ is better than the stormy, rainy, windy, cold weather here!

  11. Yummy colours!!! Gorgeous!

  12. mary@andsewtosleep

     /  March 11, 2008

    Hi Alison
    I do so love those shoes! What a good tip about the fabric. Now I just need a good tip about storage space lol.
    Mary x

  13. whisty@btinternet.com

     /  March 13, 2008

    Hi Alison
    Have sorted the photo issue out. I have started a blog – would you mind adding me to your list so I can get started on people reading it may be. You might like to check it out as it has some pictures of the timber yard ie all the wood that washed up. Thank you.
    Love your shoes by the way – what make are they? Love reading everything as usual.
    Lots of love Emma W x

  14. whisty@btinternet.com

     /  March 13, 2008

    Hi Alison
    Have sorted the photo issue out. I have started a blog – would you mind adding me to your list so I can get started on people reading it may be. You might like to check it out as it has some pictures of the timber yard ie all the wood that washed up. Thank you.
    Love your shoes by the way – what make are they? Love reading everything as usual.
    Lots of love Emma W x

  15. Kyla

     /  March 15, 2008

    Could you share the name/brand and store of the shoes. I really must have them. Please!

  16. I always used to have to much fabric, now I run a curtain business its my jobs to have rooms of the stuff what bliss! I’m actually starting to run a craft sale each month on our farm to get rid of my extras- so you’ve inspired me to do a give away- anyone interested stop by! thanks Zia

  17. Wow – amazing!

  18. That’s a great idea about fabrics at the home decor store. The material you have there is lovely and looks so pretty together.
    Love your shoes, too! Can’t wait until my weather is warmer so I can go sockless!

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • March 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

  • Meta

