indulgent sewing

I’m lucky enough to have two and a half days a week in my sewing studio. The thing is, those days right now are pretty much taken up with making things for the website, up and coming fairs and shop orders, that there’s rarely time for me to make things for myself. I’ve come to the conclusion of late that now that I’ve hit 41(did I really say that out loud?!) I can no longer wear cheap clothes! They just look…well…cheap on me! Expensive, well cut, expertly sewn clothes however, suit me just fine. I’ve never been able to justify spending $150 on a skirt and so I decided to enroll on a dress making course at our local college. The first session was yesterday.

Sewingclass

I dragged a couple of girlfriends along with me so it’s an evening I think I’ll always look forward to. Pure indulgence. Making stuff just for me. Expensive well cut looking stuff – I hope!

Sewingclass1

Lunch on the porch today in the sunshine with this book that Janelle kindly lent me. It’s filled with some nice little projects, especially if  you’re a beginner when it comes to sewing. A wonderfully friendly book that I might just invest in. It has some ideas that my niece might like to try out when she next comes to stay.

Until next time…

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. I’m 41 too! My (big) sister has a theory that as you get older and the face gets saggier, the clothes you wear must counteract that by being more structured and neater. I agree with the theory but just can’t seem to do it in practice! By the way, I have been reading your blog since you were selling vintage clothes in the UK and have read with interest about your time in NZ. I spent two months there 14 years ago and had the time of my life. Such gorgeous landscapes, inspiring arts and crafts, a slow easy pace of life and happy, friendly people (despite those garbled vowels!). I kept seeing old cars there that I hadn’t seen since my childhood but I don’t suppose it is like that now.
    All the best.

  2. Good for you, doing something for yourself. And I love ‘Bend the Rules’ – I have never come across such a joyful sewing book.

  3. I’ve not tried making my own clothes since school – memories of a terrible 7 gored woollen skirt…urgh!

  4. You are so lucky to take a sewing course like that! It sounds fabulous and I can just imagine that once you have learned a bit your options are endless. I look forward to seeing your clothes! You have such lovely things in your shop and on your blog.

  5. Good on you Alison, sometimes you need to step back, revaluate things and realize you need to think about yourself now and then.xx

  6. it’s one of the few books I’ve bought new and it was really worth it.

  7. Myra

     /  February 24, 2008

    41 years young and ooze talent – You will be a natural at this next project. Enjoy the night classes. Like the others mentioned it is nice to see you doing something for you.

  8. Oh how brilliant, I’ve wanted to do that for years (and I am three years older than you!). Well done for doing something for you xx

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • February 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    2526272829  
  • Archives

  • Meta

