make it happen

You ever get that feeling when you just know that good things are about to happen and what you’ve worked long and hard towards is just about to take off? I have that feeling. I have it right now. In fact, take off has happened and we’re climbing! We’ve been in New Zealand for 16 months now and I have one piece of advice for anyone who has just moved or is about to move to a completely different country. You reading dear Melissa? My advice is:

‘PUT YOURSELF OUT THERE!’

It’s really hard work but it certainly pays off. Actually, that goes for new business as well. Since launching the Agnes Coy Website I’ve been amazed at the interest from other NZ business owners. It’s…well, it’s over whelming really but I’m loving being over whelmed!

I was approached a couple of month’s ago by a friend who also has her own business but it’s very different from mine. She asked if I’d like to meet with her on a monthly basis for two hours. For one hour she would talk about her business, where she wants it to go, how she will get there, what the next steps are and then for the second hour, I’d do the same. It’s really working out so well and I would recommend it. Choose someone you trust, someone you respect and see what happens. We’re only allowed to comment or give advice if we’re asked to. Our time for meeting is early in the morning. Friday’s meeting took place, on a deck, in the countryside, surrounded by cows, chickens and goats over breakfast.

Resting_place1

Muesli, yogurt, strawberries and blueberries, the perfect summer breakfast.

Resting_place2

I’ve ordered some beautiful fabrics for my hand mades and am waiting with baited breath for them to arrive. The gorgeous Amy Butler fabric is already here and is already being used. You can find the Puff Brooches below in my shop .

Resting_place3

We haven’t had a photo of Trumpet on the blog for a while so I thought that it was about time and also because my Mum and Dad who are now back at home in the UK, miss him. He’s found himself a new place to sleep at night. We’ll hop into bed and then a couple of minutes later, Trumpet with trot in and hop into his new hidey hole.

Resting_place

Until next time…

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Great pic of Trumpet – how very cute. Hope you’re not missing your folks too much. Yummo on the breakfast, and what a fab idea with the self mentoring each other! All v inspiring 🙂

  2. Thank you for the comment on my blog. It is good hear from you. Love your shop!
    I love making sourkraut also. I did pickled okra this year. I am a refrigerator pickle person. So I think next year I will make refrigerator pickled okra instead of the canned. Enjoy pickling…the best part is eating it! :o)

  3. Funny how saying it out loud can really help crystallize your thoughts. And any meeting that is accompanied by a breakfast is a good one in my book.

  4. I really like the idea of a monthly meeting with someone to discuss business and the rules for commenting sound good. Thanks for the good idea. According to Shannon’s post you make sourkraut? I do too! The kraut actually bothers us so we just drink the juice. Do you use a special jar or crock?
    I love your puff flower broches – the leaves are such a nice touch with their hand stitches.

  5. yes, i’m reading, a!
    i’m so glad that your hard work is really starting to pay off. i’m not surprised agnes coy is in demand in n.z. so happy for you!
    xxx

  6. I just love reading posts like this. it’s so positive and inspiring and just what I needed to read at the moment! I couldnt be happier for you that things are going so well. That breakfast looks so perfect too! The kitty is very cute in the little cupboard! miss you but so glad you are happy and overwhelmed!

  7. Lovely posting, very inspiring. J.xx

  8. Myra

     /  January 15, 2008

    Exciting times. To be out there and such an inspiration must have you flying high, and good respectful mentoring which sounds so well established will just reinforce and maintain the energy levels. There is a sense of stardom, as you reach for the stars – overwhelmed as you describe it is good and Trumpet is gorgeous

  9. Mum

     /  January 16, 2008

    Good to read That you are so happy and uplifted with the progress of Agnes Coy Handmades. We are pleased to know your life is taking off in N Z . Trumpet looks cosy, proberbly nice and cool for him during your warm summer nights. Hes lovely! Wishing you continued success.

  10. The meetings sound great, it helps so much to say out loud exactly what you want for your business. And wow, what a location to say it in!!

  11. Wow, beautiful photographs!

  12. Hi Alison,
    I’m sorry that I haven’t kept in touch with you lately. Thank you for the Christmas card.
    I’m so glad to read that you are doing well. I love it when things line up perfectly, and good things happen.
    Take care, Carol

  13. yipee skippee great idea. that trumpet is some cute!

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • January 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

