home + away

Posts will be few and far between for the time being due to Ma and Pa Tread Softly’s continued stay with us. They spent the first week getting over their jet lag and then Mr TS and I whizzed them off to Nelson on the South Island for a holiday within a holiday! A cold beer is calling to me on the deck so how about my week in pictures? Yeah? Ok then.

Nelson

we sailed from Wellington to Picton

Nelson1

through the Malborough Sounds

Nelson2

we rented a homestay for the duration in historic South Street

Nelson3

time was spent walking along beaches

Nelson4

photographing detail

Nelson5

eating fish and chips at the Smoke House

Nelson6

whilst this little chap looked on

Nelson7

a highlight for me was meeting up with the fabulous Melissa – I could have chatted to her for hours – I had so much fun – look at the beautiful fabric she gave me and the super stylish Charlotte cards – hey Melissa, lets do it again sometime, we could trawl the op shops, have a bite to eat and drink lots more wine!

Nelson8

so now we’re back home and the Christmas decorations are up

Nelson9

wire trees

Nelson10

real trees

Nelson12

and a mountain of fresh organic from our garden

So there you have our week in pictures. I’ll keep snapping away and will post again when I can. In the meantime, those of you who have emailed me over the past week, I’ll be replying to you over the next couple of days once I’ve got my breath back!

Until next time…

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. What a wonderful week you’ve had. I love your Christmas decorating, so stylish. Our tree was decorated by 5 kids and looks like a glorious, tinsel-covered train smash!

  2. Poppy Black

     /  December 15, 2007

    So lovely to hear about your holiday, and to see your divine Christmas house. Have been up to visit Mr and Mrs Canterbury Tales. There are wee touches of So Tread Softly all around the house- gorgeous! N makes an awesome sales rep. Can’t wait to get the new house so I can have some So Tread Softly goodies. Despite still not feeling too good, I am so excited about Christmas. I love my family so much and can’t wait to see them. Yay for Ma and Pa Tread Softly being here! XXXX

  3. aww you sailed right by my front door. Did you see me waving? I must come visit myself in the new year. Lovely colours going on in your lounge. love the wire tree and the stockings.

  4. Beautiful pics and I just know Ma & Pa are having the time of their lives! The fish n’ chips look great – luckily we now have an authentic local pub (Irish owner) and at long last can get pretty good ones here.
    What veggies! You must share growing tips – mine never look like that!
    Decorations are awesome, just as I knew yours would be.
    Have a fun holiday season down under.

  5. Your minimalist decorations have me drooling. Oh to feel so serene. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Your decorations look lovely, so clean and simple. And I am so jealous of your garden produce, I wish mine was producing at that rate.

  7. Andsewtosleep

     /  December 16, 2007

    Hi Alison
    what a lovely post. Sounds like you are having a lovely time with your parents visiting. Also fitting in a ‘meet up’ with Melissa must have been great – lucky you two.
    Mary

  8. Lovely photos Alison, thanks so much for sharing. Great you got to meet Melissa and perhaps it’s your flash raised beds that have created such fab looking produce!!

  9. thank you, alison- it was wonderful meeting you too!
    enjoy your lovely organics. x

  10. beautiful but i dont see the llama?

  11. Myra

     /  December 18, 2007

    Great blog which I have been waiting for and looking forward to.
    Looks like a lovely week in the south
    A touch of class in Carterton with your Christmas decorations – such flair and
    spectacular results from the garden boxes
    Great stuff

  12. Good lord, I almost feel relaxed from jusr reading about your holiday. The photos convey so much!

  13. Ha! I remeber NZ christmas! So funny to see the organic veggies in the same post as your christmas tree! (how I long for fresh vegges rightnow!) I sooo miss the beach! Especially when the crisp white snow is now brown, and yucky. Cant even pull a sled over it! But NZ looks glorious! Have a great christmas!

  14. Gorgeous photos Alison. I hope you have a lovely Christmas with your family. You were right I was wearing an Agnes Coy brooch in my photo shoot. I just love them! I must get on with sending you a new parcel of fabric. In the New Year?

  15. oh nelson! i dream of nelson! we had such a lovely time there. i will make a note of your cottages website for when we return…one day………

  16. what a great week. love the veges in the garden!
    have a fab xmas 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • December 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

  • Meta

