a simple meal

‘ I walked home to my apartment and soft-boiled a pair of fresh brown eggs for my lunch. I peeled the eggs and arranged them on a plate beside the seven stalks of asparagus. I put some olives on the plate, too, and the four knobs of goat’s cheese I’d picked up from the formaggeria down the street, and two slices of pink, oily salmon…For the longest time I couldn’t even touch this food because it was such a masterpiece of lunch, a true expression of the art of making something out of nothing.’

extract taken from ‘Eat Pray Love’ by Elizabeth Gilbert

Eat_pray_love_3

I took ten minutes to sit on the porch yesterday with my book and a cuppa having spent the morning cleaning like a mad cleaning thing in preparation for the arrival of Mum and Dad Tread Softly (only 1 more sleep!). I just needed to catch my breath before the second cleaning phase. I read the above passage and knew immediately that that was exactly what I wanted for lunch. We didn’t have salmon so replaced it with salami. Lunch was perfect. We sat on the porch, bathed in sunshine, watching the hills and eating our simple feast.

Have I told you that I belong to a book club? I was chatting to a friend sometime ago and I said that I’d like to join one. It just so happened that she’d often had the same thought so we set up our own. There are seven of us: me, the doctor, the councilor, the artist, the midwife, the handbag designer and the storyteller. ‘Eat Pray Love’ is one of our book club reads for December/January.

I have to say a HUGE thank you to those of you who left warm messages and emails regarding the launch of the Agnes Coy website. You’re all smashing and I hope to get back to you all once Mum and Dad Tread Softly have their feet planted firmly on New Zealand land.

Until next time…

Update: They’ve arrived safe and sound – hoorah!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. I just read that book a couple of months ago, it’s a great read!!
    Hope your parents get some good summery weather for their visit!

  2. I just read that book a couple of months ago, it’s a great read!!
    Hope your parents get some good summery weather for their visit!

  3. Ange

     /  December 2, 2007

    Saw this book recently, you have inspired me to read it now…popping to the shops x p.s Love the kitchen…we have the same radio !!! Have a happy holiday with your folks xxxx

  4. Myra

     /  December 3, 2007

    Woke up at 5.45 and thought “they’ve arrived” – love to them both, hope they had a good flight.
    Serve up some of those ‘masterpieces of lunch’ and they will want to stay for ever.

  5. Oh i loved eat pray love… think i will read it again! and yes the site is really cool!

  6. I do so hope they have now safely arrived and you are all SO darn happy together! Have a lovely time my old friend.

  7. Haven’t read the book but I have to say that the lunch looks wonderful.

  8. Amanda

     /  December 7, 2007

    I hope that you have the most wonderful time with your Mum & Dad, and the weather stays perfect for you all. Have fun driving around sight seeing, it’s so lovely now they will know exactly what you are talking about when you tell them what you have been doing, only now they can both share it with you. I wish you a wonderful Christmas & a Happy New Year. Eat, Drink & Be Merry.

  9. hi, i’m planning to do a post of white artworks on my blog for christmas, i’d love to show one of your plaster dresses if that’s ok?

  10. i have had your blog on my bloglines list for a while and have finally had time today to sit down and have a read. there is some lovely work here, i love those resin pieces, the dress one makes a lovely blog banner.

  11. One of my favorite books, and man that lunch looks even better in the picture than in my mind!

  12. oh yum..and hooray for ‘me time’ incl a good book.
    Have a lovely festive season!

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • December 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

  • Meta

