5 more

Just 5 sleeps more until my folks arrive from the UK. Excited would really be underestimating how I feel right now. I can’t sit still, can’t think straight and keep giggling out loud whilst walking down the street. I’m getting comments about the ridiculous grin on my face that reaches from one ear to the other. ‘Annnnnd relax.’ Nope, can’t do that either!

One of the things we wanted to do before they arrived was to finish putting in our new kitchen and we’ve done it! Hoorah! For the past year we’ve been living with our fridge in the laundry as it wouldn’t fit in the kitchen. We’ve also been living with blue worktops, cupboards and woodwork and green walls. Great for some, but not for us. Take a peek at a couple of before photos. Well, almost before photos. Mr TS started to rip out the old kitchen before I even thought to grab my camera.

Kitchen1

Kitchen2

Mmmmm, classy! Now for the ‘after’ shots.

Kitchen3

Kitchen4

Kitchen5

I think that it’s the perfect kitchen for our little wooden cottage. Mr. TS did most of the work including making the wooden bench tops. How amazing is he?!

My folks were here last February and they love a pot of tea in the morning and really missed not having a tea cosy to keep it warm. So, to commemorate their second visit, I’ve made one. It matches the new kitchen of course – well, what else did you expect?! I just allowed the appliqued fabric to fray and surprisingly, I don’t mind it one little bit.

Kitchen6

Kitchen7

I ordered some wool felt from the US a few days ago and it arrived today. I LOVE the colours to pieces! I can’t find wool felt anywhere here. There are 66 million sheep in this country and no wool felt!

Kitchen8

Thank you for your smashing comments regarding the last post. Always appreciated as I hope you already know.

Until next time…

{Update: I’ve had a few emails and comments asking where I brought the felt. My supplier in the UK can no longer get hold of the colours I love so having spent several hours trawling the web, I eventually discovered Erica’s.}

Previous Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. I {{LOVE}} your new kitchen. What a clever Mr So Tread Softly you have!! wooden bench tops…mmmm….clean crisp white…mmm….deep white porclain butlers sink? yes please! (My kitchen is a hallway) Have a lovely time with your family!

  2. LOVE the kitchen! Well done on the combined efforts. I have to ask. Where did you get that radio? Enjoy your visitors! Are they staying for Christmas? Are the Pohutakawa’s flowering yet? Are they playing Snoopy’s Christmas on the radio yet? The only time I have ever heard that song was in NZ. People in Australia have never heard it! Lucky for them!

  3. OK V exciting that you parentals are coming, for Christmas? So lovely. Kitchen looks FAB, go Mr. TS! And love the plate rack – tell me the Seagers is full and the limes are waiting! Tea cosy is gorg, I’m sure you’re ma and pa will be chuffed!

  4. Your tea cosy is gorgeous – looks fab in the smart new kitchen I bet!

  5. Love the new kitchen- we need one too! And the felt– where did you order it from? It’s hard to find locally in the US too (its all the fake stuff at shops around here…)
    Love the cozy too!

  6. The kitchen looks wonderful, hope the visit goes well – silly comment of course it will – enjoy!

  7. emma

     /  November 29, 2007

    Hi Alison
    Thank you so much for my nest! I am in the process of sorting out a thank you note to send you and photo. I love pairs of birds. The nest currently sits on my mantelpiece with two china white birds in it. Please can you let me know where you got your supply of wool felt from as I am after some too and don’t want yucky bright acrylic felt!
    Have a great time with your parents. Send them my love.
    Best wishes Emma xxxxx

  8. The kitchen looks wonderful, just right to welcome your special visitors.
    Not sure my credit card will live after a visit to Erica’s!

  9. Myra

     /  November 29, 2007

    Gorgeous Gorgeous
    hope I can achieve the same level of delight when undertaking renovatins.
    Congratulations a great team getting great results
    Enjoy

  10. The kitchen looks fabulous-I love the sink! Hope you have a wonderful visit with your parents. I absolutely love the colours of the wool felt and the fabulous tea cozy.

  11. Poppy Black

     /  November 29, 2007

    Just perfect!!! The benches are beautiful and I love the cream. I am so thrilled at how excited you are about the fabulous parents coming. Have a brilliant time! XXXX

  12. Spotlight has a little wool felt but I won’t take a guess at the quality compared to what you bought.
    I LOVE the new kitchen, the lightness, the wooden bench, the sink, such a nice feel.

  13. looks beautiful! I love the exposed wood! How refreshing it is to have your kitchen open, bright and clean! Enjoy. I love NZ, we comming next year for 8 months with my babies…cant wait!

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • November 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Archives

  • Meta

