raffia

The Girl Friday’s gathered at my house today for a day of crafting (and a loooong lunch!). I’d asked Victoria if we could have a play with raffia as I particularly wanted to know how to weave it. Who’d have believed that this dry piece of straw…

Rafia

could be woven into this…

Rafia1_3

I added a few vintage and antique buttons and sewed a brooch pin onto the back.

Rafia1ajgp

I was told that the first woven piece you produce has to be given away, so this who going to Frances who gave me the flax flower a few weeks ago.

Victoria is teaching me that there are no rules when it comes to art. I do have a tendency to be a little too neat at times but the afternoon’s project really did that knock that out of me. Wool yarn, wool felt, vintage lace and rafia was used to create this little nest.

Rafia3

For some reason it looks much better in real life. It’s very tactile so maybe you need to feel it to appreciate it?

Rafia4

The little egg was needle felted.

I loved this project. In fact both pieces looked such a mess for a while and suddenly, as if by magic, they both came together.

Until next time…

Next Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. What a fantastic nest and heart. Your ‘Girl Friday’ group sounds like such fun – can I come?!
    Cathy X

  2. Poppy Black

     /  October 19, 2007

    I so want to join the Girl Friday group. Sadly was hard at work and too far away. You make such amazing treasures. XXX

  3. What a cute project! A Girl Friday group sounds great!

  4. awesome and fun
    I learnt to flax flowers at uni 🙂
    havent done it for a while

  5. I am SOO excited – I can felt – in fact Mr Black taught me to felt when I had a teaching placement in his class while I had my teaching training wheels on – can I felt with you when we visit each other sometime? Yay! I can do something crafty with AL!! I am rapt about that!

  6. what beautiful, tactile pieces these are!
    i’m impressed!

  7. Pauline

     /  October 22, 2007

    I love the flax heart… just visited a gallery today on the way to Akaroa and they were selling similar pieces as necklaces for almost $100.

  8. how great it is to try out a new “medium” for hand made goods. I particularly like the nest but I do have a thing for nests. Maybe you can make some small ones for people to put in their Christmas trees? I use lots of nests on my tree. glad you are busy and having fun!

  9. wow, that looks like so much fun! I’ve just found your site via Nonnie. You make some wonderful things. I’d love to know how to needle felt, I love the texture. Love the nest x

  10. wow, that looks like so much fun! I’ve just found your site via Nonnie. You make some wonderful things. I’d love to know how to needle felt, I love the texture. Love the nest x

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • October 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

