images

Spring has sprung for real and here’s proof…

30sept4

The cherry tree in Victoria’s garden was just begging to be photographed.

30sept5

My camera almost captured a bumble bee but he popped into one of the blossoms just as I clicked the shutter. Quite obviously shy.

The morning of Girl Friday Craft was spent working on a second bird pillow for Jo’s two girls. I’ll finish it off just as soon as I’m completed this post. Embroidery work and chatting just go so well together. You’re not having to count stitches or talk above the whirring of a machine. You can just…be and natter and stitch.

30sept6

The afternoon was spent at Aratoi as I was eager to see the Laura Hudson exhibition. She uses images of women and hundreds and hundreds of buttons in her work so you can see why I was drawn to it. Here’s my favourite piece of hers. It’s called ‘Train’.

30sept7 

The piece focuses around the training of women by their mothers and grandmothers with regards to motherhood, housekeeping and embroidery.

30sept8

The artist says that the repetition of sewing on the hundreds of buttons represents the monotony and repetition of household tasks carried out in daily living.

Two new pieces of art went up on my wall this week by the very wonderful and exceptionally talented AshleyG. Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous!

30sept1

I’ll show you some close-ups.

30sept2

30sept3

Until next time guys, have a great week!

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. I like Spring flowers
    and I like the ‘train’

  2. Spring? That is just southern hemisphere craziness!! I do love the spring but I am feeling ready for cozy autumn which is just showing it’s face here in England. Beautiful blossoms, by the way.

  3. What inspiring works of art. I love your last photo of the little girl – it’s really beautiful. I also love blossom, but it does seem funny to be seeing it at the moment – I am sat in front of my fire surrounded by conkers the girls have collected!
    Cathy X

  4. Myra

     /  October 1, 2007

    Such beauty
    Such talent
    It is all around you
    Have a great week yourself:-)

  5. great art work! I love embroidery, it’s so hands on, you feel every stitch. Sometimes a little too much if your attention wanders 😉

  6. Lovely art but it was the blue skies and blossom that really captured me.

  7. What lovely things, blossom and art works. Especially lovely to see the blossom when it is all falling leaves over here.

  8. Poppy Black

     /  October 5, 2007

    I adore blossom! There are so many blossom trees to be seen in Christchurch. My lovely parents have masses on their farm. Mum especially loves the flowering crabapples. Sad to admit I love watching the tattoo show (although would never get a tattoo) Maiami Ink. I found out on there that the cherry blossom in Japanese tattooing represents the brevity of life- and therefore making the most of every day.

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • September 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Archives

  • Meta

