it’s been so long…

…since I last posted. I got carried away with life and now that Spring has sprung we’d much rather be outside trying to do something with our vast garden. Being a Brit I’m used to gardens the size of postage stamps so to be faced with a quarter of an acre is a wee bit daunting ( Kiwis will laugh at that – a quarter of an acre? Pah! A piece of cake!). We have, however made a start on growing some veggies. Mr Tread Softly did a grand job of building three large raised beds. We’re hoping to feed my folks home produce when they arrive for a visit in December.

22sept2jpg

We also planted a couple of olive trees at the side of the deck. We have a friend who has an olive farm so are hoping for a few pointers from her.

22sept3

My knowledge of Maori culture is pretty poor so a friend has decided to instruct me! We started this week with learning how to weave flax flowers. Women still do this today and create the most wonderful bags, decorations and small garments.

She began by softening the flax (picked in the garden) by running the sharp scissor edge up and down the split leaf.

22sept4

The flax is woven using a simple under and over technique with quarter turns.

22sept5

After sometime, she ended up with a beautiful twisted flowers. You can see the flax bush in the background.

22sept6_3

A couple of weeks ago I started work on building myself a website. Since then work has taken over – it’s just one of those times when there’s a lot going on that needs my attention. It’s meant that there hasn’t been time for crafting and I’m beginning to get withdrawal symptoms! Am looking forward to getting back to the website and a bit of sewing next week.

The Daffodil Fair was a huge success I am happy to say. I’m sorting through all the up and coming fairs and will choose another 2 or 3 to sell at. In the meantime, here’s a couple of shots of my stall from two weeks ago.

22sept

22sept1 

Anyway guys, the garden beckons. Until next time…

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. The things for the stall look lovely!! So does your garden!! I have to wait till November to plant some tomatoes as we still have frosts till then and the plants die!!!

  2. Good on U and Mr Tread Softy
    Love your flax flower
    your stall looks interesting πŸ™‚
    Happy gardening

  3. Love the look of the raised beds! I’m so ready for summer!

  4. So pleased that the fair went well for you, the flax flower is brilliant I’d never seen one before. And those raised beds are just wonderful, good luck with your gardening adventures,

  5. So glad to hear the fair went well. Your stall looks beautiful. Did you sell those little birdy cushions? If not, I know a home across the Tasman they can come to? But who am I kidding? Of course they would have sold!

  6. Your stall looks great – i’m glad the fair went well. Well done for building your own website – I wasn’t brave enough to do that (blogging has stretched me to the edge of my technology capability). I would love raised beds like that in my garden. I’ve got an allotment but it is the other side of town, and our garden really is a postage stamp. How lovely to have such space.
    cathy X

  7. Myra

     /  September 24, 2007

    I love the raised garden beds, and they will give great pleasure as you tend to their production needs etc
    I echo earlier comments about the hand mades on the stall -no wonder you did so well.
    Variety is the spice of life, and with such varied interests all your passsions will stay alive and remain exciting for you and us reading about it.
    WEll done on all fronts

  8. So glad the daffodil fair went well for you. Your gardening efforts look great. It would be wonderful to have your own olive tree. Sounds very mediterranean!!

  9. i’m so jealous of your raised garden beds. they look so good. happy vege gardening to you!
    and oh, my. your stall! i wish i could have visited in person!

  10. Myra

     /  September 25, 2007

    Love the raised gardens, you will spend many pleasurable hours producing good stuff.
    Not surprising you did so well with your stall – your hand mades look lovely.
    Your interests are so varied – those breaks as you pursue other things will only service to heighten your creativity and passion. Will have to keep watching this space.
    Good luck with the website
    Well done

  11. Wow, your stall looks fantastic. I wish there was some funky craft fairs down this way I could sell at, but there doesn’t seem to be. Maybe I should try and organise one – if I ever got the time!!! The garden is looking great too. NZ does look wonderful.

  12. oh my word – your raised beds are simply to die for!!!!
    We planted an olive by our deck too – I think they’ll be just wonderful there.
    πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • September 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Archives

  • Meta

