full circle

We’re almost through Winter. Another 4 weeks and we’d have gone full circle and will be celebrating living a whole year in New Zealand. It’s been a real journey and I mean a REAL journey both emotionally and physically. Dealing with being so far away from people I love dearly has been a huge trial – HUGE! But I think that I’m going to leave those thoughts exactly where they are until my post on 12th September (that’s when the year’s up) which, I imagine, will have something to do with reflection.

Anyway, where was I…ah yes, Winter. This weekend has been so gorgeous that My Tread Softly and I decided to ditch our plans and spend most of it outdoors. Yesterday we drove up to Carter Reserve for a saunter through the swamp land. We were the only ones there apart from the fantails flitting about.

Carter6_2

I always have my camera on me and loved this shot of a wooden stump…

Carter5

…which led me to start this…

Carter1

…which I turned into this…

Carter2

Carter3

  …and this…

Carter4

I have a little production line going on right now as I’m wanting to include a selection of the above on my stall at the Daffodil Fair on 9th September.

Hey, thanks for all your comments regarding the last post. Each and every one of them brightened my day.

Until next time…

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. What a lovely walk- a very NZ scene (swamp!). And the sewing is lovely. Reminds me of a stump photo I have from the petrified forest down in the deepest, darkest south! I really must make one of those clutches 🙂

  2. Love that clutch – totally gorgeous.

  3. We’ve had a gorgeous Winter weekend down here as well. Spent half the day exploring further out, we hadn’t been yet.
    ah yes, inspiration all around!
    Carter Reserve looks and sounds interesting. Your sewing items fab.

  4. Lovely clutch and bib! And that swamp is beautiful (and I didn’t know a swamp could be). I’m so damn glad it’s nearly spring. The weekends are getting better and better.

  5. Is it really almost a year? Doesn’t time fly.
    Well the main thing is you’re getting settled and loving NZ.
    Linen ‘pouch’ looks very good:)

  6. Beautiful picture of the swamp. And your stuff looks quite nice. Nice to see what inspired your design.

  7. Such beautiful designs from such beautiful nature. I do love the work you produce from linen. Love the phtography too. Wish I could get to the Daffodil Fair – just the name sounds lovely.
    Mary

  8. fiona

     /  August 20, 2007

    You are sooooo clever! The log embroidery is brilliant. I just love walking along boardwalks. When we went pukeko spotting we walked on lots. Fantails are the most divine little creatures. I have been checking out lots of my favourite blogs for inspiration. Spring is here! I am growing towards the light like the daffodils and tulips. Have a wonderful week!!!!

  9. Lovely design, and gorgeous linen as well.

  10. Pretty!

  11. I love your pouch fastening. And great to see inspiration through to finished articles.

  12. such sweet sewing from such a burly bit of nature. I love to hear you all talking about spring…like the twittering of little birds! Fall is coming early here, there has even been a frost in the mountains. A month early. We better get our wood in!

  13. What a clever interpretation – I love the finished result. I cannot believe you have been in NZ for nearly a year – how the time flies.
    Ax

  14. Wow, I can’t believe it’s been a year already since you made your big move!
    Your crafts inspired by nature are great. A walk thru a swamp on a wooden walkway sounds fun, the path looks very inviting.
    Bye for now, Carol

  15. Stitching inspired by tree stump lovely, keep looking its all out there and around us, just a question of ‘seeing’

  16. Oh, the first photo! OH OH OH! I want to go there rightthissecond. I’ve always wanted to go to NZ. Where are you from originally? Has NZ lived up to your (my) expectations?

  17. Exciting times for you and yours. Lovely photos and embroidery. All the best for the Daffy Fair – I love spring 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • August 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

