crossing items off the list

It’s been a great week for getting things crossed off the To Do list. Remember the fabric I found a couple of posts ago? Every since then I’ve been washing and pressing it. The last of it was laundered yesterday. Really pleased that that’s crossed off! Washing.

Orange

The Girl Friday’s were talking yesterday about how driven I can be. Now I take that as a compliment but I was thinking about where it comes from ( apart from the values taught to me by my folks) and it really stems back to when I was in the theatre. I used to have a recurring dream about being on stage and not having taken the time to learn my lines properly. It would be my turn to deliver a line and of course, because I hadn’t done the preparation, I didn’t have the faintest idea what I was supposed to say. I never want to be in that position for real so I always take time to prepare.

The Winter Solstice fair is drawing closer and that’s what I’m working towards and focusing on right now. Sewing is never a chore and I’m loving every minute of getting my handmades together. This week I’ve focused on pin-boards for the stall.

Makingpinboards

I can now cross those off the list. Pin-boards

Pinboards

Pinboard2

I’m half way through making coaster pairs. They’ll be complete by the end of this evening. Half way stage!

Makecoasters 

The Girl Friday’s were treated to cake yesterday (thanks Victoria).

Cake

Mr Tread Softly and I gave up smoking 18 months ago and since then we’ve both gained a bit of weight. The diet starts on Tuesday so then cake will definitely be crossed off the list. Cake!

I’ve also got to get through these by then which really won’t be a chore! A parcel arrived by courier out of the blue from Myra (father in law’s partner). This is what she sent:

Goodies

They’re all my favourites. I posted about them here a while back. There was a little note attached that read:

"Can’t do much to help with your ‘making bee’ leading up to the Winter Solstice Fair but hope this will keep the energy levels up to support your creativity."

How thoughtful is that?! THANK YOU Myra! You comment on every post and know how to treat a crafting girl. I’m so grateful for that.

I’ve been talking to Melissa about wanting one of her gorgeous scarfs in an adult size. We were also discussing the possibility of adding a little opening so that one end could be threaded through the other. We were having real trouble working out how it could be done. She’s snowed under at the moment so gave me the go ahead to have a play. Not yet perfect but I know exactly what I have to do next time to rectify the little niggles. She just has one toddler sized scarf in her shop right now so I’d grab it if I were you! Fathom out how to include an opening.

Scarf

Scarf1jgp

Trumpet (King of his Castle) is worn out with all the activity going on in a little wooden cottage in small town New Zealand! Photograph Trumpet for the 100th time today.

Kingofthecastle

My sewing machine is calling so I’d better get back to it. In the meantime, keep warm if you’re on this side of the world and enjoy the sunshine if you’re on the other!

Update blog.

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Your orange fabrics make me happy! And love the pin boards too. I’ve been meaning to make one for some time- if only I was going to be able to call in on your stall! You look like you’ve been very busy- maybe I need a list to keep me focused too 🙂

  2. Will you be joining a class or dieting on your own?
    Hurry up and eat all those sweeties before Tuesday:)

  3. fiona

     /  June 24, 2007

    I have decided that scarves are a girl’s best friend in frozen Christchurch! Did some more pukeko spotting today. I wish I was “driven.” Gosh what a wonderful thing to be.

  4. Gary

     /  June 24, 2007

    Hullo Small
    noticed your ‘keyhole scarf’ dilemma. Have a look on my site (www.blairandbundy.com)at our mufflers. They are a cunning design with a looped end that works in the same way. Peasy to make. I could mail you an instruction sheet if you fancy having a go.
    Oh, and thanks for the online tip about Etsy. I’m now on there as Blairandbundy.
    Love
    G
    x

  5. Myra

     /  June 24, 2007

    Gosh – didnt expect to be featured in the posting, and didnt know about the Tuesday diet kick off – if you eat them quickly you might just get a head start to any weight loss.
    I’m looking forward to seeing the fruits of your labour – at the fair, with all the examples posted I know it will be a feast for the eyes.
    Have a good week

  6. Looks like you’ve been really busy. It all looks lovely.

  7. okay, so much goodness here i don’t know what to comment on! your list made me laugh. how sad to have to cross off ‘cake’ though! thank you for the mention too- i think your scarf is so pretty and i am greatly admiring of that buttonhole execution. have you been wearing it yet?

  8. Your pinboards look lovely, great colour combinations

  9. Amanda

     /  June 26, 2007

    Hi Alison,so many “Lovelys” that you have made, and so much “Inspiration” Where do you get all that creative energy?? and I so wish I was as organised!! that is such a great gift to have. I would love to order one of your beautiful pin boards? would that be OK with you? they are so lovely, you have been so busy, I bet Trumpet has had a huge part to play in these creations,it must be such hard work for him all that multi tasking, snoozzzzzzzing and supervising at the same time. I am sure you will be sold out very very…..quickly,and there will be alot of happy people going home with all your lovely things.

  10. fiona

     /  June 26, 2007

    I had another look at this entry before tackling the new me (as inspiration, not procrastination). Oh those goodies look sooooooo good to eat. Sadly no sweets for me now I’ve got braces. I really want to try a chewy lemon drop! My orthodontist would be very fierce. I’m still allowed chocolate. WHAT A RELIEF!!!

  11. Those pinboards look fab! And oh doesn’t puss look content!

  12. Could do with a couple of those pinboards, door stops, coasters, in fact anything Agnes Coy. Great work Alison, love it.

  13. Mary @Sew to Sleep

     /  July 1, 2007

    Beatutiful fabrics, lovely creations and yummy cakes. Altogether a perfect post. Than You for sharing. Mary

  14. Love those pin boards, and the idea of The List. I am working on my list at the moment as I am on school holidays. Love your blog
    Annie

  15. Ange

     /  July 1, 2007

    It’s Sunday morning and I have been up since 6.30am it’s raining and has been for about week….Looking at your blog, as usual, makes the sun shine!! I love the new hair cut. I have also been crafty today and stuck some boggle eyes onto a comedy stone I found at the beach last week in Pevensey Bay – little things make one smile eh?!!!!

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • June 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Archives

  • Meta

