window treatment

We’re all wrapped up warm and sipping on Lemsips in the Tread Softly household this week. We both have colds so haven’t really been inspired to craft. I did, however, make a curtain for the dining area which I’m chuffed with – more of that later.

One of the reasons for starting this blog was to keep our family and friends in the UK and elsewhere up to date with our lives here in NZ and also to show the renovation that are happening to our little wooden cottage. This is the window treatment post so if curtains, drapes and blinds bore you to tears then best switch off now!

Window1

First the master bedroom where I wanted to make simple roman blinds for the small (as pictured above) window and also the HUGE one that faces front. I used a pale linen and cotton mix weighty fabric and then hand-stitched it in a duck egg blue that the camera hasn’t picked up.

Window2

I used the same fabric to create blinds in the guest room so guys when you visit, this is where you’ll be sleeping. All of the blinds have been thermal lined to keep those draughts out!

Window3

In the bathroom we have two windows, one with obscured glass (which isn’t to my taste – I think that etched glass would look better) with a simple blue and white gingham blind.

Window4

The same fabric was used on the larger window but for added privacy I made a little modesty curtain out of a French antique metis linen sheet. It has a sweet monogram embroidered onto it that I imagine were the first initials of the husband and wife that it belonged to.

Window5

Finally, this is the curtain I made a couple of nights ago. I love it’s simplicity. I used large silver eyelets and I’m thrilled with the effect. They’re so easy to use and come on a long tape that you sew onto the reverse of the fabric. You then cut out the holes with a craft knife and clip the front of the eyelets on. The curtain took about an hour and a half to complete and hang. Love quick jobs like that!

Window6

The fabric is a weight cotton canvas from France and I have enough left over to whizz up a little doorstop once I’m feeling brighter.

Window7 

More home improvements as and when they happen. Thank you to all the readers who left wonderful messages on the last post. Keep ’em coming – I love ’em!

Until next time… 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Myra

     /  June 7, 2007

    Smashing – I love what you have done in the dining area – all the curtains are great finishing touches.
    Take time to recharge and get over the winter ails, I suspect something a bit stronger than lemsip might be in order.
    I imagine it might be therapeutic to sit back and appreciate all you efforts. I hope Trumpet is well. Take Care Tread Softly team

  2. beautiful window treatments- i’m so impressed! all the blinds and curtains are very professional-looking. and i always wondered how those eyelet tapes worked, so thank you for explaining that!

  3. Its a little while since I visited, and I see enormous changes in your new home! it all looks lovely, and you are very clever!

  4. Olivia

     /  February 28, 2011

    Hi there – I know this is an old post but I wondered where in NZ you got the eyelet tape from? Many thanks, Olivia

  5. Hi Olivia. I emailed you directly but for other perhaps reading this post, the eyelet tape came from Evans Fabric store in Masterton. However, it is also available at Spotlight and most good stores that hold curtain fabric.

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • June 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Archives

  • Meta

