print

It’s the Queen’s Birthday Weekend here in NZ which means that we get Monday off – whoo-hoo! Mr Tread Softly and I are making the most of getting out and about and visiting places we’ve yet to experience. When we got back from our day trip I found an email from the owner of the shop who stocks my Agnes Coy Handmades to say that I got a mention in todays Dominion Post. That’s the capitals newspaper. If you click on the photo it should enlarge so that you can read it.

Print2

As well as the above, which was a lovely surprise, I also received a parcel from my friend Emma in the UK. She included a gorgeous print of her roof garden and a book about junk interiors which is right up my street. Thank you Emma, you have my style just right!

Print1

I was tagged by Tif today. I have to list 7 things about me that you don’t know. I did this way back in January but then it was 6 things. Between now and then another one has been added so let’s see if there’s anything else about me I don’t mind sharing! Ummm, yep, got one – whenever I’m in the car alone I avoid right hand turns onto the main drag. Hate them! The local supermarket is about 5 blocks from here. Turn left at the end of our road and then drive 5 blocks and there it is. Now I can do that – not a problem – easy as pie until, that it, it’s time to turn around and drive home. I just have this real phobia about pulling out onto the main road when it’s just me so instead I turn left and drive out to the country, turn left again, drive 4km, hang another left and then left again when I hit the main road. Weird huh?

I’d like to say thanks to those of you who left comments yesterday, so thank you Fe Li (she’s in Berlin you know. I have a reader in Berlin! How cool is that?!), Mary Jane, Nonnie, Lynn and of course, the lovely Tif floating around in her gorgeous slips in the US (I’ve already started my Christmas list and one of her slips is on it!).

Time to draw the curtains here. The fire is lit and I’m looking forward to curling up on the settee with my new book, a glass of Chardonnay and a bowl of my favourite fruit, lychees.

Lycees1

Until next time…

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. thank you for humoring me…(do you note my english spelling has gone down hill..)i laughed out loud about your driving issues…another nutty Brit living abroad! and congrats on getting mentioned in the paper, i’m not suprised your things are lovely…and i’m not floating in slips these days, more like drowning in them!

  2. Hi Alison – so lovely to hear from another kiwi/uk blogger : ) Nice to meet you !!
    It’s hilarious about you not liking right hand turns – we are the same. One year on holiday my friend Tammy and I invented a book called “The New Zealand book of how to avoid right hand turns – for the unassertive truck driver” LOL !!
    The idea was how to get all the way around NZ without ever having to do a right hand turn. I’m sure we’d have sold a few 🙂

  3. Amanda

     /  June 3, 2007

    Hi Alison, I just love reading your Blog to see what you are up to! You are doing up your house so beautifully, just my sort of taste, and I find all your crafty things really inspiring.My family and I are moving to the South Island in July perminantly, and you have given me the inspiration to learn how to sew properly, we had a very unkind sewing teacher at school and she put me right off sewing, and I have gone through life always wishing I could sew. I will take my trusty little Bernina sewing machine with me, that I inherited from my Mum when she passed away, and make it my big goal in life, sewing things for my “Old House” that we are moving into, Cushion Covers etc. I have always loved fabric and buttons so now I will be able to put it into practice, with Country Style bits & pieces for our house. Keep up the great Blogging. Warmest Wishes Amanda.

  4. hey….. you made my day… with mention me in your blog. Thats so pleasant. thank you very much.
    Read you soon. Yours FeLi

  5. Myra

     /  June 4, 2007

    Congratulations on your press bebut – sooooo proud
    With fame comes fortune. Although I have to say it was only a matter of time before the talent scouts notices your work.

  6. thanks for your beautiful comment. it made me feel so good! wonderful news about being mentioned in the article. your items are so pretty and well made they are bound to catch peoples eye. I have never had a lychee but have always wanted to try some. I will get some and give it a go!

  7. Congratulations on the newpaper mention! Your driving story reminded me of an old work colleague who when she was visiting a particular client, used to take a detour of about 10 miles or so, just to avoid turning right onto a busy road. The detour meant she only did left turns. So you’re not the only one.

  8. Well done you on the press coverage. Your creations are very beautiful so it’s no surprise. I’m sure it’s just the start of things to come. Mary

  9. Well done for the mention! Your house looks lovely by the way!
    I have the junk style book too – it’s full of lovely ideas!

  10. Congrats on the article! Reading your comments on Winter over there makes me long to light a fire! Mind you it’s been so cold here I think I could have!!
    Jane
    x

  11. i’ve got Junkstyle,too – great little book and you have a lovely blog.

  12. OOh thanks for the nod! We always seem to have dodgey cars, we don’t believe in new ones, so after 250,000 miles they get some odd ticks, this winter the left turn signal was broken, fearful of being pulled over by the cops, who would find much more wrong, and having somewhat of the same issue as your right-hander one, I too would go to great lengths to avoid a left-turn… but I saw some great scenery!

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • June 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Archives

  • Meta

