button love

A few posts ago I mentioned that I’d made a seamless felt purse at our Girl Friday WIP Day. This week I finished it by adding lining, a zip and an embellishment of vintage buttons. I’m pleased with the outcome but also decided that I won’t be adding them to my Agnes Coy Handmades collection because they take me about 100 years to complete!!

Feltpurse

The little bobble on the zipper is also felted.

Feltpurse1

We worked at Victoria’s studio this week and I always come away with something. Her house and studio is packed with fabrics and notions. I say her house but she won’t let me in it! I’m notoriously tidy as is the other friend I craft with and I think, well actually I know, that Victoria is the opposite. She said that she’s working up to showing me inside the house! Anyway, this week I came away with two bags crammed with buttons that I’d hand picked from her button jars and boxes.

Buttonlove

Here are my favourites along with a book that I borrowed for the week called Make Do and Mend.

Buttonlove1

There’s a great Silk Corsage tutorial in it that I think I’ll have a go at. Promise to take photos.

Until next time…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Mum

     /  May 28, 2007

    What a cute little purse you made. shame it took so long as to put you off making more . I think it would have said “buy me” to all who saw it in the shop. Super piece of craft work.

  2. I’m afraid I’d have to brace myself before letting you into my house too! Notoriously tidy does not describe me at all!

  3. Myra

     /  May 29, 2007

    Just love the purse – what a shame it is so labour intensive as it would be a great hit in Affinity’s.
    Its amazing how you can make a collection of buttons look so interesting and exciting – is this passion you yours contagious do you think?

  4. What a sweet piece of felting. I love the button detail. Mary

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • May 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

