king trumpet and his new throne

A friend emailed me from the UK this week saying that I’d slotted right back into a busy life again. It’s true, I have, which is why I haven’t managed to email each of that were kind enough to leave comments on the last post. Know that I really do appreciate them but I’m just a bit rubbish with time management!

One of the reasons why Mr Tread Softly and I moved to NZ was to hunt down a more simplistic, slower paced life. I think that we’ve almost found it but I’ve also got to accept that actually, I kind of like being busy and having lots of projects on the go at the same time.

I haven’t crafted for a few days as I’ve been away on a work business trip but I did manage to make a cushion for King Trumpet.

Cat_cushion

The temperature has suddenly dropped here so the log burner is on the go 24/7. Trumpet just loves to stretch out in front of it. He was using a vintage cushion of mine but it wasn’t quite big enough so I looked out a selection of blue cotton and some linen and whizzed a new one up for him.

Cat_cushion3a_2

I cut into some of my precious 1930’s repro fabric along with a couple of vintage finds for the patchwork strip.

Cat_cushion2

The covered buttons were an idea from Amy Butlers book.

Cat_cushion1

If the use Trumpet has got out of it over the past few days is anything to go by then I think that he’s happy with it!

Until next time…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. http://www.andsewtosleep.blogspot.com

     /  April 15, 2007

    Well I say – Trumpet looks like one contented cat! But who wouldn’t be content lying on such a beautiful cushion. It’s divine! Mary

  2. Just catching up with your blog Alison. Beautiful things you are making as usual. Trumpet is one lucky cat! Isn’t it funny how British we become when away from home? I lived in LA for a while and visited the ‘English shop’ from time to time. I used to buy all sorts of things I would never have had back home but just had to have them because of the nostalgia value. Hope you enjoyed your sweeties, Happy Easter 🙂

  3. Myra

     /  April 16, 2007

    What a wonderful life you have given Trumpet – warmth and comfort to snuggle up in the winter nights and a huge garden and trees to climb under the summer skies. Kitty Kingdom indeed and a real touch of class in his throne

  4. HI Al,
    Thank you for the lovely comment you left for me.
    That cushion is very pretty. I love the buttons! are they just sewn through just the top layer of fabric? I have recently covered some buttons but I ahve yet to figure out the best way to sew them onto a cushion like you have. miss you,
    kelly

  5. Lucky Trumpet! That is a gorgeous cushion. I love the buttons. I often cover my own buttons. Love the way you’ve got a bit of the button fabric in the patches too.

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • April 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Archives

  • Meta

