cool britannia

Chocolate eggs? Don’t need them! Peanut Slabs? Nope, you can’t tempt me! K Bars? Hmmm, wavering a bit now but NO, I can even refuse those! I’ll be quite content with a visit to Cool Britannia in Wellington every once in a while instead because they sell English food and…

Sweet10

I had to use two M’s in place of the two E’s because I’d eaten them all! Yesterday, when I walked into the shop I thought that I’d died and gone to heaven. Well, not quite that extreme but I was SOOOO excited!! Just look –

Sweet7

– and look at this as well – {sigh}

Sweet6

I had 20 minutes only to choose what I wanted. Now that’s a tall order believe me! I wanted it all but I came away with…

a quarter of lemon bons bons (the chewy variety)

Sweet3

a bag of fruit salads. FRUIT SALADS!!!! I haven’t seen those since last August!

Sweet

a quarter of strawberry chewy bon bons

Sweet1

and a quarter of ABC letters. My absolute favourites!

Sweet2

I also brought some Walkers Smokey Bacon Crisps but I couldn’t wait to photograph them and wolfed them down in the car coming home!

They’ll keep me going for a few hours at which point I’ll be the one racing around the garden high on sugar! It’s a sight to behold!

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the last post people. You know how much I love reading them. Until next time…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. andsewtosleep

     /  April 8, 2007

    They say the world is getting smaller! I would be so at home with those bon-bons. Enjoy. Mary.

  2. Helen

     /  April 8, 2007

    Hi Al
    I know EXACTLY how you felt, we are even more limited than you!! Mum & Dad bought us out stacks of goodies that we hadn’t seen/eaten in 5 months! Advacado & plums, steak & kidney pudding for Chris, fruit corner yogs for Luke, it was like Christmas!!!
    No Easter eggs for us this year, the ship didn’t get here in time!!
    Love to you.
    Helen
    xx

  3. Hello, I’ve been following your blog for a while and admiring your crafting but could not resist giggling tonight when I saw all your ‘must have’ purchases of sweets and the crisps that were devoured before the camera could catch them!

  4. Myra

     /  April 9, 2007

    Industrial doses of gastronomical treats then.
    As long as you limit yourself to racing round the garden and not up the tree with Trumpet.
    Just for the record – there is now a Cool Britannia shop in Lower Hutt

  5. Yummy. Those are all different looking candies to those that we have in the US. I love candy shops like that, so many choices! What are the letters and the bon bons made of?

  6. I had jars and jars of old fashioned sweeties that i weighed out and sold in pretty bags in my shop – 1 year later and a whole dress size bigger!!!
    They had to go!
    Enjoy your goodies
    Tracy x

  7. masal

     /  April 11, 2007

    Please, please, please NEVER give me the address for Cool Britannia – it would be too hard to resist a visit or two, or three or four…..especially with longer winter nights coming up!

  8. So important having food from home! I used to go to Harrods for peanut butter. What a pretty little dream of a shop Cool Britannia is!

  9. I just found your blog via Kelly at Nesty. Love that you are living in NZ and loving it (although yes it has just suddenly become bitterly cold here in Christchurch). I’ve enjoyed reading your posts. I’ll be back!

  10. Wow!! Looks amazing! Yummy:)

  11. Felt Tastic

     /  June 5, 2007

    What is it about that little wellington shop. I found it too on my last visit there. And I walked out with a quart of bonbons and some flapjacks & fruitsalad. I could have sat in the shop for hours just choosing – luckily it was closing. And I’ve lived in NZ since 1990 …. the craving for bonbons NEVER goes away – It’s just a good thing an island seperates me from that shop.

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • April 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Archives

  • Meta

