bitten by the felt bug

Feltballs1 Wow! Your comments came in thick and fast yesterday and from the sound of them many of you have been meaning to try your hands at felting but it’s one of those things you haven’t yet got around to doing. I say DO IT! It’s something that’s pretty instant which is always a good thing in my book. I’m so pleased that some of you felt (no pun intended)  inspired to seek out a class or a workshop. After all, isn’t that what blogs are about? Inspiring people? At least thats how I’ve always felt (eek, there’s another one – so sorry!!). I’m often inspired by projects I see featured on your blogs.

So, I really have been bitten by the felt bug! I rediscovered a bag of wonderfully soft little twists of wool in my stash cupboard yesterday. I brought them just over a year ago. I had to have 6 weeks convalescing and so I stored up lots of little craft projects to keep me occupied and this was one of them. Why didn’t anyone tell me that I’d feel too shattered to carry any of them through?! Anyway, the twists have been waiting patiently until inspiration hit and now it has!

                        Feltballs

I spent part of yesterday afternoon sitting in the garden making little felt beads. It’s the sort of project you can get on with whilst being sociable at the same time.

                          Feltballs2

It’s a case of just rolling them in your hand and dunking them in water every now and then which has diluted dishwasher powder added to it. Once they’re dry I’m going to thread them onto elastic and make a little bracelet. I’ll be sure to have my camera at the ready once it’s complete.

                         Feltballs4

Until next time…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I bought a felting kit to do with my kids last year and it was lots of fun. We made beads and a couple of bags. You’ve inspired to have another go, I love the poppy and scarf.

  2. Myra

     /  April 2, 2007

    Fabulous colours and I can imagine a great texture to work with. What a therapeutic way to spend an afternoon especially in the garden and blessed with the Wairarapa sunshine. ENJOY your new found BUG and you just keep on inspiring us.

  3. andsewtosleep

     /  April 3, 2007

    Oh gosh now I really have to find a local felting class! Those colours are wonderful. Thanks for your reply. Will visit again soon. Mary

  4. beautiful beads! i adore the colours you’ve used.
    that’s it- i’m going to make enquiries about a felting course today. thank you again for the inspiration.

  5. What can I say?
    What marvellous balls:)

  6. Wonderful felting! I’m so glad someone else is into this craft. I found some wool sweaters at our local charity shop and have felted them! Have an idea to make them into little bags…well we will see! love the poppy! Is there a tutorial at all?
    Jane
    x

  7. awesome, love your site

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • April 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Archives

  • Meta

