A day to felt

I’ve had some lovely comments this week from people who like to read my blog (goodness knows why!) but have never left messages and it’s wonderful. Whoever leaves a comment I always head over and have of read of their blog too. If you are a regular reader, I’d love to know that you’re out there. Don’t be shy, just click on Comments and say hi.

I attended a fabulous felting workshop yesterday. Actually it was almost 1-1 as it was only my neighbour, the tutor and me. I’ve wanted to learn how to felt for ages. I started with this:

Felt6

that turned into this:

Felt7

and then this:

Felt8

and theeeeen … this!

Felt1

I’m going to pop it in a box and ship it to my friend Emma in the UK who’s birthday is in a few days and she just so happens to LOVE colour! I just need for it to dry completely first.

I also made a scarf at the end of the day that I’m really pleased with. I understand that with the NZ winter a few months away, I’m going to need it!

Felt3

Felt2

Today we went to the French Fair just along the way. It was filled with market stalls, people selling wine and olives with French chefs cooking up feasts. There was a stall selling roasted chestnuts that reminded me of home. It was 27 degrees but I just had to have a bag of them. Here I am eating them whilst wearing my new hat! I feel a little like Laura Ingles in it but hey, Ingles Chic isn’t so bad!

Hat1_2 

Seeing that it was a French Fair, I did my bit by wearing a French linen chemise from about 1880. Oh la la!

I discovered a little stall selling old linens and picked up a neta 1950’s tablecloth and a sweet apron. Not sure what I’m going to do with them yet but at $2 a piece how could I resist?!

Felt4_2

Felt5_2 

Until next time…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. oh that felt work is to die for! so gorgeous, there is a woman here in Perth, W.Australia who runs workshops, I think I am going to have to go now that I have seen that! beautiful!

  2. I have just given out three audible gasps of sheer wow-ness! If there is such a thing.
    1. Your flower – magnificent!
    2. Your scarf with the flower – beautiful!
    3. That apron !!!!
    Great post!

  3. i’m with jo- WOW. the second-hand finds are so cute! And your felt-making has made me resolve to join a felt-making class this winter. I love the big flower (poppy?) you made. You’re so clever.

  4. The scarf and the flower look wonderful together!

  5. oh al, i simply love the felt! Your friend will be thrilled with that flower im sure, its gorgeous! I sure do wish we had some of that weather, i am sick of the cold and grey!!!

  6. Beautiful flower Alison.
    I have wool roving, but as yet not the inclination to experiment – might have a go now.

  7. Myra

     /  April 1, 2007

    You never cease to impress me with your ability your creations your flair. This has been a sunday afternoon treat up the coast – just couldn’t wait.

  8. The Poppy! The Scarf! The cute YOu! Not to leave out the fabric and peek-a-boo strips on the apron! Great post, what fun.

  9. Oh lucky lucky friend. That corsage is to DIE for. You are soooo very clever 😉

  10. andsewtosleep

     /  April 2, 2007

    Wow I love the felting – I’ve always wanted to try this craft. I’ve done the “cheats” version (boiled knitwear) but your post inspires me to try the real thing. Mary

  11. Oh wow, I really really like that flower! Felting is soemthing that I’ve seen online, but have never tried myself. Now I’ll have to give it a go! Was there a pattern that you followed to make the flower?

  12. What a lovely time you had. Feel free to make lots more poppies and offer them for sale. It looks as if there are plenty of us who would be queueing (are there enough vowels there?) up to buy!!

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • March 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

