a friendly gesture

It was only last week that was thinking how bored I am with the clothes in my wardrobe. I’m used to car booting each week and bringing home wild and wonderful vintage items to wear but they just don’t happen here. I’ve been told to get the local paper on a Friday where they list all the garage sales for the next morning. Now THAT’s right up my street and hopefully I’ll uncover some new textile treasures. In the meantime my new friend was having a clear out and brought round a huge pile of clothes for me to try on Friday. What a treat! NZ design is so quirky and I got myself some fabulous items. To thank her I put aside the roman blinds that I’m STILL working on and made here a set of coasters (thank you Jo for the tip off and Jenny for the tutorial) that are really satisfying and neat to make.

Knitting3

I’d love to make some more and have promised myself that treat AFTER the blinds are finished!

Knitting2

And whilst Trumpet played happily (ahem!) with some of my yarn stash…

Knitting1

…I managed to rustle up a large wool felt flower brooch as well whilst listening to last weeks episode of A Good Read . Couldn’t survive without BBC Radio 4!

Knitting4

Knitting5 

Actually that reminds me – can anyone point me in the direction of a good Book Club blog? I fancy joining one. If you can then perhaps you’d be good enough to leave a comment  or drop me an email .

Thank you lovely people for your comments on the last post. Until next time..

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Love your coasters. They are a bit addictive. And that wool felt brooch is just divine!

  2. As always, your crafty goods are excellent! So glad to hear you have made a new friend, it will help you to settle into a new country and culture. Quirky clothes, huh? I love quirky clothing! missing you.

  3. Mary

     /  March 28, 2007

    What a lovely brooch – gorgeous colours. I’m not sure I could live without car boots (well that’s a bit extreme – but I would miss them lots)! Mary

  4. Myra

     /  March 28, 2007

    Lovely stuff. It looks like Trumpet has found a kitty heaven in your workroom. I can see many hours of pleasure for you both, you doing and him undoing.

  5. Hi Alison, glad to read that things are going well. Lovely pics! Your cat is totally gorgeous!! Years of happy, purring cuddles to you all! Louise x

  6. Thank you for leaving a comment on my blog (http://crafttutorials.wordpress.com) the other day, that’s very nice. I see you are living in NZ too! I moved here 4 years ago from the Netherlands with my kiwi-family and we are now in Nelson. The first fall/winter was fabulous especially since this part of the country has such mild winters so no worries.
    Cheers eve

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • March 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

