a bit of culture

It seems like an age since I posted. It isn’t really, it’s only been a week but the last two posts have just been photos so it feels as though I’ve been slacking a wee bit. The truth is I’ve been busy working on our new life in New Zealand. I started my job two weeks ago and I’m really excited about it. My official title is Communications Coordinator for the Wairarapa Region. I’ll be continuing to work with people who have learning needs which is a real passion of mine. I also just heard that funding has been agreed for to teach drama in the area. Hoorah!

Crafting wise I haven’t really had a chance. I’m busy making roman blinds for each of the bedrooms and need to get one completed by Sunday when our next visitor arrives for a couple of days. The thing with living somewhere beautiful means that people always want to visit which is just lovely.

Thought that I’d share a couple of photos taken early in the morning from our back door over the past two days. The sound of the burner filling up this balloon woke us up.

Balloon1_2

Last night we had so much rain. Everything is looking dusty and scorched so it was very welcome. We woke up to this amazing site.

Rainbow

A highlight over the past week has been attending the preview night of Sculpture in the Country here in Carterton. It was organized by my friend Andrea who lives next door. I think that it’s OK to call her a friend now as we’ve been out for pizza and chat regularly on the phone and that to me constitutes friendship!! The evening was amazing. We spent time wandering around the beautiful Awaiti Gardens glass of chardonnay in hand wearing summer frocks and admiring the work of up to 50 established New Zealand sculptors. Seven year old Lily (another friends daughter) took most of the photos, in fact you can see her waving in the reflection of one of the exhibits. Here are some favourites:

Sculpture1

A beautiful Sean Crawford piece.

Sculpture4

Sculpture2

The above piece sold within minutes for $16,000. I understand that it could have been sold several times over. An amazing piece of art!

Sculpture5

The above is made from chicken wire.

Sculpture3

And finally, what is it with Trumpet and his fascination with the dishwasher?!

Dishwasher

Until next time…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. So pleased to hear you are settling in and loving the kiwi lifestyle!

  2. Wow, what amazing views, right from your own yard! I’m glad to hear that you are settling in with your new job so well (and sounding so official) Those sculptures are amazing, especially the woman’s body.
    Maybe Trumpet just likes to make sure the dishes are clean! Boris likes to watch me sweep and vacuum.

  3. Myra

     /  March 17, 2007

    Lovely artwork, scenes from your back yard and Trumpet doing his quality control audit.
    Things are so settled and positive on many fronts. It will only get better.

  4. What a nice time you are having way way way down there! What a great show, and what a funny cat!

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • March 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

