the best present

So the story goes like this…an email arrived from my folks a few days ago with a request for a web-cam chat. This is actually the norm as we try to talk once a week if we can. The chat was arranged and they asked me if I’d sent out my birthday BBQ invitations yet. I hadn’t and they then asked if I could send one to them as they had brought tickets to fly to NZ to be with me for my 40th! It was at that point that I burst into tears and Gregor had to take over! I am so excited I keep thinking that I’m going to burst! I’m looking forward to taking them on walks to see views such as this:

Holdsworth3

and this:

Kapiti

Since the fabulous news we’ve been planning what we can do to make the house as comfortable as possible for them. Luckily we’d just finished painting the walls in the guest room so yesterday we ordered new carpet. I have my eye on some lovely bedlinen and new fresh fluffy towels so that they feel spoiled. I’ve also been hanging some artwork. This pair here took me just a couple of minutes to complete. I chose two of my favourite fabrics, cut out a little square of each and framed them. Once I get fed up with them I’ll simply choose more fabric.

Picturesa

I haven’t made any Agnes Coy pieces this week as I’m too excited to settle. That’s not to say that I don’t have 101 projects lined up in my head. However, my little rubber stamp that I ordered a couple of months ago finally arrived. It will be perfect for stamping up handmade cards and even fabric.

Stamp 

One of the great features on Typepad is that I can see how many people visit the blog each day. I have to say that I was astounded when I checked! If you visit and have the time, do leave a little comment. I always try to acknowledge each of them with a little email. Thank you to those of you who left comments on the last post. You’re all smashing!

Until next time…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Well hello my dear! What beautiful things you get to see. Don’t you just have to keep pinching yourself sometimes, to make sure it’s real? I’m so happy for you that your parents can visit on your “great day”. I know just how it is, making sure they have everything sweet and fluffy and nice. Hip hip hooray!

  2. fiona

     /  January 20, 2007

    Great to hear the spare room is going well. I love the fabric pictures. Must get some lovely frames and have a go myself. It will be so exciting sharing your new life with your parents! You can treat them to all sorts of New Zealand goodies.

  3. no wonder you’re all excited…how great to have your folks coming so many miles to be with you on a special birthday! those views are amazing…what a special place to live.
    love the fabric pics + the rubber stamp…it’ll give your creations a sweet finish πŸ™‚

  4. Hi I am interested to know more about typepad, I must investigate.
    Have a great 40th Birthday, what a beautiful place to be all celebrating together!
    HAPPY 40TH BIRTHDAY!
    best wishes Ginny

  5. Helen

     /  January 22, 2007

    Al, my Mum & Dad are coming here for my ‘big’ birthday too! What with your scenery and mine here! I’ll be thinking about us and our school days!
    Love to you
    Helen
    xx

  6. emma

     /  January 22, 2007

    It was really lovely to read your latest blog. It must have been amazing – what a great surprise. Your block of wood was also very inspiring. LOL Emma xxxxx

  7. What a lovely surprise for you. You really must be excited. Lovely to have a special reason to make the spare bedroom really wonderful. I’m sure they’ll have a great time. Those views look absolutely amazing.

  8. How lovely for you Alison. What a wonderful surprise.
    Thanks for your email. I will be sure to let you know just as soon as I open up my shop. It should be any day now.
    Where did you get your lovely stamp made? I would love to get one for my business.

  9. Myra

     /  January 23, 2007

    What a treat, your excitement is contagious and I can imagine your Mum and Dad will just love spending time with you and exploring places such as those you present on the blog.
    Life is sweet

  10. I am sooo happy to hear that your Mum and Dad are coming over!!
    I can relate to that wonderful feeling…enjoy πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • January 2007
    M T W T F S S
        Feb »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

