distinctly blue

I’m trying Typepad on for size. I’ve had a new website project on the go for a while now but over the past few weeks I just haven’t been motivated to see it through so I’ve decided to place it on the back burner for a while. That’s something I’ve never been very good at but I’m going to see how it feels. In the meantime this move to Typepad, which allows for a little more creativity, will keep my interest until I’m ready to complete the website.

Yesterday was a great day! I’m working a regular job now four days a week and I was so looking forward to a day in my work room at home. I’m finding myself drawn to blue. Our new NZ home is open plan (a first for us) and we’ve decided on a pale stone and duck egg blue colour scheme so consequently they’re the colours in my head right now.

Block1_2 

My first project yesterday was to make my birthday BBQ invitations for next month. It’s one of those birthdays that you tend to dread as it has a big fat zero in it with a little 4 in front! Hmmm, I’m just not going to dwell on it! The invites were a really simple idea (less is more for me at the moment when it comes to design), three colourway felt sewn onto hand made card and embellished with 1920’s precious buttons. These are VERY rare – the cards I mean. There are very few in existence – 6 in fact as we’ve only met that many families in the short time that we’ve been here!!

My second project of the day involved a block of wood that was given to each of the artists by Victoria, the curator, exhibiting at Carterton Gallery. The brief was simply ‘decorate it’! Now, I have to admit to liking the wood just how it was which is probably why I spent a couple of weeks procrastinating. Here’s how it was originally:

Block   

Inspired by the felt used on the invites, heres how it turned out:

Block3

On Saturday we visited a fabulous store called Save Mart that’s rammed with secondhand clothing, including a retro and fabric section. I picked up a gorgeous wool blanket in turquoise blue and grey and turned it into three cushion covers that I LOVE. There’s plenty left over for more.

Cushions_2

My final project of the day was to create a new blog in Typepad – and indeed, here it is for all to see. A distinct shade of blue!

Thank you for reading. Please feel free to leave a comment – in fact, I’ll love you for it! Until next time…

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. lovely new blog! welcome to typepad, it works well for me, it’s very user-friendly, i think.
    your banner looks great and i’m looking forward to checking in with you regularly.

  2. fiona

     /  January 16, 2007

    The cushions look fabulous! Savemart is great- there are several here in Christchurch. Love the new blog. Your block and cards are brilliant. I am going to get some felt to make some things. Hope I can get some lovely vintage colours.

  3. Lovely! Good luck in your new homes…NZ and blog-wise =)
    Your wood block is AMAZING, I absolutely adore it. Wonderful colours, I can just imagine your whole house looking like that…yum, yum!

  4. Myra

     /  January 16, 2007

    Congratulations Al, your work is really lovely. Your creativity inspirational. Blue is my colour and I think the blog is really professional and easy to read. I look forward to the next installment. See you soon

  5. love those colours! and I like what you did with the block. I also love the simplicity of the cards. I know how hard it is to part with buttons, I have to remind myself that the new lot I was given were just sitting in an old lady’s cupboard and would still be SO JUST HURRY UP AND USE THEM! 🙂

  6. Hi Alison. I love your new typepad home. Very nice banner. I’ll make sure to go and change the link address on my blog. Gosh the things you’ve been making are really lovely. The block of wood is gorgeous. I’m longing to have a day of crafting like that.
    I know how you feel about the Birthday. My last one was the 3 and the 5 and I really struggled with that one a lot! But you know really it’s just a number. You’ll only be another day older on your Birthday.

  7. dear alison, i’m loving your new blog home…you’re tempting me towards typepad! you’ve been making such delights…wonderful colours + that cube is gorgeous! i’m pleased that you had a productive day on your crafting day…a great feeling 🙂 x k
    p.s. off to update my link for you now!

  8. so glad to see that bloody block finally sorted out! Hahaha!!! it looks great! Wish I could be at the bbq.

  9. Everything looks luscious. Beautiful colors, wonderful felt things, wood& felt..brilliant!

  10. Wow, that’s all I can say.
    I’ve been reading you for awhile but have never commented, until today!
    I switched to typepad and really enjoy it, although I find myself playing all of the time and changing my banner often 🙂
    I love, love, love your felt work and that block!!!!! Great colors.
    I’ve been so busy lately that I haven’t had any crafting time. You are inspiring me to make the time.

  11. Very nice! Can’t wait to see what you come up with in the near future. Welcome to Typepad, friend!
    Blessings,
    Tinuviel

  12. Welcome to Typepad I’m sure you will like it. You have been making some seriously lovely things, not sure what I like the best it’s all so gorgeous.

  13. Loving your new look, very stylish 🙂
    Don’t worry about the four-o thing. It’s not so bad really. I felt compelled to tell everyone that I was 40 because I could hardly believe it myself. This year I am 43 and I feel less inclined to shout about it, hehehe! I wish I was one of the recipients of your invitations, they are truly beautiful x

  14. Love the new blog Alison! What gorgeous stuff you’ve been making too. I was feeling a bit old the other day so I bought myself some SPARKLY green eyeshadow & it made me feel much better! Louise x

  15. Helen

     /  January 22, 2007

    Hi Al
    Great new page! Perhaps I should start one with life here on Asi!
    Speak soon, love Helen xx

  16. The cushions are really great – you amaze me with your fantastic ideas for bits and pieces which I would probably just unceremoniously dump. Now I will think twice!
    The block is just superb – a new door stop perhaps, or a paper weight?

Leave a Reply

  • agnes coy website

    agnes has now closed her virtual doors.
  • comments

    If you've decided to leave me a comment then thank you - I love reading them. Any questions will be answered within the comments section of the blog so do check back.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • copyright

    2006-2013 please do not use any photos or content without first seeking my permission. Thank you!
  • Pages

  • January 2007
    M T W T F S S
        Feb »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Archives

  • Meta

